+ Reply to Thread
Page 9 of 13 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 194

Thread: Soundcraftsmen purchase help

  1. #121
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    624
    thought about asking this in another thread but didn't find one appropriate (didn't want to get scolded to for posting in the analog 2.1 preamp thread ), and want to stay on Soundcraftsment so here goes.

    I'm currently running an Opp83SE-->analog bypass HK AVR-->SC S800 amp for my two channel listening. Thought for sometime about what to expect if I ran the SEs analog out to a vintage pre-amp instead? (want to use the Oppo's DAC that paid good money for). Would the analog section of such a pre-amp like a SC DX series/Control3 make that much of a difference compared to the HK bypass??

    I'm pretty ignorant about analog pre-amp power boards, what makes them good/bad, and have repeatedly read about how inferior they are on modern mid-grade AVRs, so I'm a bit lost there. On the flipside for budget purposes I'd only do this with something vintage and low risk, so would a late 80s, early 90's SC be a meaningful "upgrade"?
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  2. #122
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1
    I have a SP 4002 and a MA 5002 that I absolutely LOVE for my 2 channel setup. However, I want to build a home theater now and would LOVE to use Soundcraftsmen amps for this too but I was wondering if a person could run multiple amps (bridged / mono) to do this ? would it sound good ? I was thinking like maybe a PM or PCR "shoebox" per channel maybe at least a large amp for the fronts and center and a smaller amp for the rears ?

    Not sure what's possible so any ideas or even better, examples if you guys are running something similar, would be awesome!!

  3. #123
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    3

    Soundcraftsmen schematics

    The new 900X2 arrived today. I was surprised to see the front grille slots horizontal rather than vertical like the PR1800. Otherwise looks pretty much the same on the outside.

    As I was unable to get any PR1800 or 900X2 schematics on any forums I bought some from this online source:
    http://www.servicemanuals.net/Servic...1/results.aspx
    They have schematics for most of the soundcraftsmen line.

    I actually bought the PR1800 schematic and they came with "PR1800; 900X2; Pro-Power 8" on them, so I didn't bother to buy the 900X2 schematics.

    So it sounds like a Pro-Power 8 and 900X2 and PR1800 are all the same thing? rickedd46 has me confused, he describes an A900 as also the same 12 output transistors/channel but then describes it as 4-channel or 2 PM860 in 1 chassis, which would be only 6 output transistors per channel??? Something doesn't add up, even the power spec impedances are like unbridged, unless the A900 is like two 900X2 in 1 chassis?

  4. #124
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    624

    A400 finally!

    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post

    What I'm looking for is an A400, which has the power rating I seek, is a bit newer, and recommended by TiD for the L7s
    Two years later, and one finally came up, a bid I wasn't going to lose this time

    Really really clean unit, looks brand new, much unlike the two S800s I purchased originally. Just hooked it up & the difference I notice from the S800 would read like clichéd audio mag reviews, so I'll not go there, but there is an absolute improvement in LF that is particularly welcomed on an L7.

    Don't know if its the model or from being in better shape than the S800s, but it's a step up for certain--thanks Dome for the original recommendation.....
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  5. #125
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,868
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    Two years later, and one finally came up, a bid I wasn't going to lose this time

    Really really clean unit, looks brand new, much unlike the two S800s I purchased originally. Just hooked it up & the difference I notice from the S800 would read like clichéd audio mag reviews, so I'll not go there, but there is an absolute improvement in LF that is particularly welcomed on an L7.

    Don't know if its the model or from being in better shape than the S800s, but it's a step up for certain--thanks Dome for the original recommendation.....
    The A400, now there's a sweet baby!
    In.

  6. #126
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclecamper View Post
    The new 900X2 arrived today. I was surprised to see the front grille slots horizontal rather than vertical like the PR1800. Otherwise looks pretty much the same on the outside.

    As I was unable to get any PR1800 or 900X2 schematics on any forums I bought some from this online source:
    http://www.servicemanuals.net/Servic...1/results.aspx
    They have schematics for most of the soundcraftsmen line.

    I actually bought the PR1800 schematic and they came with "PR1800; 900X2; Pro-Power 8" on them, so I didn't bother to buy the 900X2 schematics.

    So it sounds like a Pro-Power 8 and 900X2 and PR1800 are all the same thing? rickedd46 has me confused, he describes an A900 as also the same 12 output transistors/channel but then describes it as 4-channel or 2 PM860 in 1 chassis, which would be only 6 output transistors per channel??? Something doesn't add up, even the power spec impedances are like unbridged, unless the A900 is like two 900X2 in 1 chassis?
    Hello Cyclecamper,

    Yes, that was an error on my part. The PM1600, Pro-Power 8, PR1800, 900X2, A900PRO are all the same amplifier except that the PM1600 does not have the protection circuitry board and only 1/4" inputs. There might be other differences as front plates but internally the same. Thanks for catching that.

  7. #127
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    624

    Help please, Peak indicator light on?

    unfortunately as of yesterday the right Peak indicator light on my "new" A400 is lit whenever I run the amp.

    It lit up and low volume and has stayed on at low volume, even after shutting it down for the night and starting it back up the next day.

    Does this mean there's something wrong with the actual output in terms of clipping or possibly that that light itself is defective? I can't hear any audible clipping/distortion?
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  8. #128
    Obviously... not a golfer grumpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    3,964
    If you've checked for DC, it's not gone into ultrasonic oscillation, and it sounds OK,
    it's probably just the circuitry driving the lamp (or a stuck relay or an overprotective protection circuit?).
    Other A400 user reports of similar behavior?

    Seems like folks here had/have schematics that might help w/ a diagnosis.
    It's nograveconcern to me, but it appears a fan on AVS "borrowed" my avatar...

  9. #129
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,868
    IME that's a precursor to channel failure. I'd retire it until it's checked out, unless you've got it hooked up to a speaker you don't mind sacrificing.

    Every Soundcraftsman amp that's gone bad on me started with a persistent clipping indicator. Over time, one simply stopped playing with no ill effect. Two others signaled their demise loudly and with great anguish, killing tweeters with their death throes.
    In.

  10. #130
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by grumpy View Post
    If you've checked for DC, it's not gone into ultrasonic oscillation, and it sounds OK,
    it's probably just the circuitry driving the lamp (or a stuck relay or an overprotective protection circuit?).
    Other A400 user reports of similar behavior?

    Seems like folks here had/have schematics that might help w/ a diagnosis.
    Sorry to sound ignorant, DC is short for clipping? thanks!
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  11. #131
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    DC 'burbs
    Posts
    7,251
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    Sorry to sound ignorant, DC is short for clipping? thanks!
    DC means Direct current - from the power supply perhaps - maybe a capacitor is/has failed ...
    instead of AC - Alternating current, which is what the music/audio is...
    2ch - Oppo DV981, JoLida 502, JBL L200+, KEF 105.4
    HT7- Oppo BDP-93, B&K amps, Vandy 2Ce, 2Ci, VCC1, DCM TF600 & 4641

  12. #132
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,868
    If you come on the 13th, maybe we could check it for DC (Direct Current) if you bring it. Plus, I have one in my garage that could be used for comparison.
    In.

  13. #133
    Obviously... not a golfer grumpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    3,964
    DC is what you get from a battery... steady (mostly) unvarying voltage.
    If persistent on the output of an audio amp, more than a few milli-Volts,
    it usually indicates an adjustment is needed or a failure has occurred.

    In dramatic failure cases, the power supply voltage (tens+ of volts) can
    show up on the output... sort of like clipping that stuck to the peak and stayed...
    This usually releases magic smoke from the amp -and- speaker

    You can safely see what DC does by hooking up an AA battery to a large woofer...
    it introduces a static position offset (voice coil is no longer centered in the gap
    by the spider/surround suspension) and gives off heat (not audio).
    It's nograveconcern to me, but it appears a fan on AVS "borrowed" my avatar...

  14. #134
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    624
    thanks for the replies, wow that sucks, after waiting so long to find one especially in such nice outward condition....

    I should have clarified that I did know how AC-DC works, but since I didn't know how to check direct current vs. alternating current in the amp, I thought maybe clipping was short for dynamic clipping or something like that. I do have an ohm-meter, but don't know where to probe?
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  15. #135
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by Titanium Dome View Post
    If you come on the 13th, maybe we could check it for DC (Direct Current) if you bring it. Plus, I have one in my garage that could be used for comparison.
    that'd be cool! chances are I'll be there for the 13th the way it looks right now
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Sweet Soundcraftsmen Score
    By Titanium Dome in forum Miscellaneous Gear
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 07:02 PM
  2. HK AVR354, new purchase
    By JBLAddict in forum Consumer Amps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2009, 01:55 AM
  3. Where to purchase flat jumper for my K2 5500
    By fallot in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-10-2007, 09:32 PM
  4. Soundcraftsmen, same as the Hafler?
    By still4given in forum Professional Amps
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 10-12-2004, 06:00 AM
  5. Soundcraftsmen PCR800, worth fixing?
    By still4given in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-11-2004, 09:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts