+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: BX63A Power Supply Question

  1. #1
    Senior Member Audiokarma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Steamboat Springs, CO
    Posts
    241

    BX63A Power Supply Question

    I recently picked up a BX63A that is missing the original power supply. So far, I have contacted one electronics supplier. Here is copy of text of my inquiry and his response.

    I'm seeking opinions on whether his recommendation for a replacement is a viable solution:

    INQUIRY:

    Hello,

    I am looking for a replacement power supply for a home audio electronic crossover. It is a JBL BX63A and the original was a

    15 V AC

    50-60 Hz

    1 W

    The input jack on the back is 1/8" and it does not have a center pin.

    I have attached a picture of the back of the unit for your reference.

    Do you have anything that might work?

    Thanks for your help.

    RESPONSE:

    We do not have exact replacement. We have several 15 volt ac power adapters all of with are higher power 4.5 to 10 watts none of which have the 1/8 inch power plug they run in the $8.95 to $11.95 range we have a 1/8 inch plug at $1.95 which you could solder to the adapter cable and meet your needs. thecross over will only take what it needs. The AC means that you do not have to worry about polarity of the plug.

  2. #2
    RIP 2011 Zilch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    9,985
    That is (almost) all correct. The output voltage of a larger, higher-wattage transformer will be a bit higher, so you want the smaller of the ones they have.

    It should work.

    The original owner of Ti Dome's BX63A use an 18V transformer, and that smoked the voltage regulator circuitry in his. I, too, had difficulty finding a suitable replacement.

    Perhaps he can read on his transformer what size I ultimately found and used, which has been working fine for several years now....

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,895
    I'll have to go to the office to check it out. I'll post it when I get it, but it's not likely to be until Monday. If I go sooner, I'll post it as soon as I get it.

    Zilch is correct that it has worked continuously without issue for some time. In addition to crossover duty, I'm also using it to bridge a Soundcraftsmen A200 amp for the JBL B380. It works like a charm.

  4. #4
    Senior Member soundboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    210
    I have two BX63A's. One had the power supply, the other uses the following:
    Radio Shack AC Adaptor for Telephone Answering machines.
    Catalog number 273-1631
    800ma
    4 way switch for 9 to 13 volt.
    I measured it in store with a voltmeter at 15.5 volts on the 13 volt setting... Perfect.
    I got the correct 1/8" plug, and replaced the origonal plug, and used heat shrink over the wires.

    Know what? It sounds better than the stock one.
    It was about $13.00.

    It has been on for about 3 years.

    I also replaced every cap inside both units with Mundorf silver oil or supreme, or Auricap, depending on value.
    Got rid of the output electrolytics, and used 5uf Auricaps.
    Replaced the power supply caps with Blackgates. (You wouldn't believe the bass after this was done) Perfect blend, fast, tight, natural

    All of this is hooey, though, because I just felt like pissing money away, breathing solder fumes,etc....we all know that all capacitors sound alike....

    My 1980 white aquaplas 2245H sounds the same as my 1995 black aquaplas 2245H...
    Incredible below 70hz

  5. #5
    Senior Member soundboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    210
    Actually, if you just replaced the high pass caps with a pair of silver oil Mundorf's, and replaced the power supply caps with FK series 220uf Blackgates.....that is 90% of the improvement....Just my experience.
    The silver oils are the only cap I tried that didn't change timbre, focus, sparkle, etc.
    The larger Blackgates won't fit in the chassis...but, beleive me, it's quality over quantity on this one. The old 470uf caps sound like shit in comparison. No kidding.
    One more thing. Let the Blackgates break in for a week or two, before thinking they are too dry.

    Ok, this is all off topic enough,I guess....have fun, ya'all

  6. #6
    Senior Member Audiokarma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Steamboat Springs, CO
    Posts
    241
    Hey Ti, did you have a chance to take a look at your power supply? thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by Titanium Dome View Post
    I'll have to go to the office to check it out. I'll post it when I get it, but it's not likely to be until Monday. If I go sooner, I'll post it as soon as I get it.

    Zilch is correct that it has worked continuously without issue for some time. In addition to crossover duty, I'm also using it to bridge a Soundcraftsmen A200 amp for the JBL B380. It works like a charm.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,895
    You know, I haven't been in the office at all this week—lots happening in the neighborhoods unfortunately. But I will go to the office early in the morning and check it for you.

    Sorry for the delay.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,895
    Quote Originally Posted by Titanium Dome View Post
    You know, I haven't been in the office at all this week—lots happening in the neighborhoods unfortunately. But I will go to the office early in the morning and check it for you.

    Sorry for the delay.
    Okay, I IMed my office and got my IT guy to check it out. It's a Phonemate NM-25 (13V 800mA).

    Hey look! There's one on ebay right now:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=120107820033

    $6.99 BIN

  9. #9
    RIP 2011 Zilch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    9,985
    Don't ask me where I got that.

    [BIN musta JUST went to $9.99.... ]

  10. #10
    RIP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Posts
    3,790
    There's a JBL 15VAC power supply on eBay right now: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...link:middle:us

    John

  11. #11
    Senior Member Audiokarma's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Steamboat Springs, CO
    Posts
    241

    Got it

    Hey John,

    Thanks for heads up. I just worked out a Buy It Now with seller and snagged it.


  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    McKinney, TX
    Posts
    58

    FYI for others needing power.

    I recently got a BX63 without a power supply. I took some advice from this thread and got the power supply from Radio Shack. It works perfectly.

    I used these three items:
    Power Supply, part# 273-1631
    1/8" Adaptaplug "F", part# 273-1709
    Adaptaplug Socket, part# 273-1743

    I cut the tip off of the power supply, soldered the adaptaplug socket to the wires on the power supply, and then plugged in the 1/8" adaptaplug to the adaptaplug socket. Works great!

    This thread was a great help for me, maybe this addition will help others.

    Scott

  13. #13
    Senior Member pmakres1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    549
    Quote Originally Posted by elshout View Post
    I recently got a BX63 without a power supply. I took some advice from this thread and got the power supply from Radio Shack. It works perfectly.

    I used these three items:
    Power Supply, part# 273-1631
    1/8" Adaptaplug "F", part# 273-1709
    Adaptaplug Socket, part# 273-1743

    I cut the tip off of the power supply, soldered the adaptaplug socket to the wires on the power supply, and then plugged in the 1/8" adaptaplug to the adaptaplug socket. Works great!

    This thread was a great help for me, maybe this addition will help others.

    Scott
    I did the exact same thing for my newly acquired BX63A, maybe 2 weeks ago, per this thread. Soundboy's post was right on the money. I did the same thing, soldering the adaptaplug socket to the power supply lead, and then used the 1/8" adaptaplug. It works perfect. For my BX63A, I used the 13 volt setting, as did soundboy.

    Pete
    L220A's w/B460; 4313B's w/2241-based Sub; 4401's w/ES250

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Question about power handling...
    By louped garouv in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-01-2005, 08:49 PM
  2. Power Supply Coatings
    By Ken Pachkowsky in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2004, 08:29 PM
  3. Is it the name or the power supply and output section??
    By Roland in forum Miscellaneous Gear
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-30-2003, 12:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts