Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: HARMAN group to discontinue service parts

FRAZIERHORN

HARMAN group to discontinue service parts

I got a call from a rep this morning about a repair under warranty that they were handling and was informed that Harman is going to send a new replacement-no repairs-brand new!.that was a surprize!I was told that rumor has it that Harmon is no longer investing in service/service parts,once the stock on hand is sold that's it.has anyone heard or know this to be true?

That wouldn't surprise me... what a disgusting waste of our precious resources. Let's not employ people to fix anything anymore and just throw out anything that is out of spec.

"I'm sorry sir, your 6 month old Chevy is not performing properly, we are sending it to the crusher. Here is your replacement car."

Widget

Is this announcement for a particular range of products, like vintage or other non current products?

OR all JBL products?
    scottyj

I've been a CPA in public practice for 30 years and...

...from a profit standpoint, this makes perfect cents (no pun) to me!

Quote Originally Posted by robertbartsch View Post

Your saying it is less expensive for JBL to replace a 2242h, OR comp driver like a 2450J completely, instead of reconing or changing a diaphragm?

Or, does this mean we HAVE to BUY new units, instead of having them repaired?
    scottyj

Quote Originally Posted by scott fitlin View Post
    Your saying it is less expensive for JBL to replace a 2242h, OR comp driver like a 2450J completely, instead of reconing or changing a diaphragm?

Or, does this mean we HAVE to BUY new units, instead of having them repaired?
    Both... while under warranty JBL gives you a shiny new one... and once the warranty period is over... you're screwed! Quite a far cry from the old days:
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Quote Originally Posted by robertbartsch View Post