Thread: JBL 4 way Crossover Suggestions-transition 2202H-2390

JBL 4 way Crossover Suggestions-transition 2202H-2390

Hello All,

Been a while since I've posted.... I am in the planning stages of designing a modified 4 way system. I have been using my 4355 clones for about 5 years now and really enjoy them. Basically I need to design a new speaker system that is not wide as in the 4350/55 series but vertical orientation because of space considerations.. I know that the modified 4355 (4451) accomplishes the width issue this but I want more of a V config. That said I also want to integrate a different horn/lens combination. I have always loved the look and sound of the 2309/2310 lens combination. Though I have not used them in a a in house environment, only in small clubs that require a shorter throw speaker. I know that the original 2311/2308 may be the logical choice as it has been tested and used for many years in the 43XX series.. There is some nostalgia coming into play here... NOTE: I will still be using the 2235's, 2202H 2441 and 2405 for the new design.

My question is- Do I need to modify the 2202H/2441-2390-2405 crossover points (I plan on using 1.2k and 9k) and since there are spec differences between the two horn combos will I need to modify the crossover topography to accommodate the 2390 dispersion characteristics ? Sensitivity is almost the same. 2310 vs. 2392 I am basically building a 4533 crossover for this new 4 way.

Your suggestions are greatly appreciated.

mike