Thread: need help with 4311's

need help with 4311's

I inherited a pair of 4311's from an older man who passed recently. Hooked them up and neither speakers woofers work. Hooked the woofers to a sine wave disc and they move like they should. So Im assuming its not the voice coil. Its odd to me that both speakers are affected in the same way. The other components in the speaker work fine. May i assume that this is a crossover problem? I have had no experience or training in electronics. Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance guys. dave

I'm not sure if this is true of every version of the 4311, but most have no crossover on the woofer. The woofers play full range. Check the continuity between the speaker's terminals and the speaker wire for the woofers.

Widget

Thanks a bunch for your help. I'll give it a try this weekend. dave

Agree with Widget, if bot woofers were not working, there was a fault in the way they were wired either to the crossover board or directly to the input terminals, however JBL wired them. I would suggest rechecking all the wiring from input terminals to crossover to all drivers, something had to be off.

also, make sure to check and correctly orient the solid color and black stripe color wires to the correct terminals, JBL has some odd wiring due to polarity differences in early consumer and pro models.

here the link to the original 4311:

http://www.jblproservice.com/pdf/Net...%20Network.pdf
    When faced with another JBL find, Good mech986 says , JBL Fan mech986 says

Again thanks for all your help guys. Mr Widget i checked the continuity of the crossover and thats good. I used Deoxit on the pots and the woofers came to life. The pots were pretty gnarly looking on the outside. The woofers do go thru the crossover on this set. Now i have non-functioning LE 25's and 1 LE 5-2 not working. So i will check the wiring (thanks Mech986 for the schematic) and the speakers for continuity. I truly appreciate all you guys. dave