Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please help ID JBL Speaker (D130 / 2x123 / 075 / XO2400)

Please help ID JBL Speaker (D130 / 2x123 / 075 / XO2400)

Hello vintage JBL lovers. It's my first post and I'd like you to know that I've been caught by this nice JBL virus also lol. Enough talk, the truth is that I recently scored this speakers, and I'm in search for more info about them. Anyone knows whats model it is? As you see in the pictures one of them has a 15" D130 and the other 2xD123 both with bullet tweeters and 2400 crossover. They sound wonderful, to my ears it sounds like they were projected to complete each other ! Anyone got more info about these ones? Thank you so much and I wish you wonderful auditions !

Name:  IMG_9390.JPG
Views: 1559
Size:  94.3 KBName:  IMG_9391.JPG
Views: 1185
Size:  84.9 KB

I've never seen red surrounds on a JBL but I'm no expert (EV?). They're two different (duh!) home made cabinets with JBL parts.

I'm trying to figure out why anyone would put the crossover on the front, requiring the speaker wires to exit from the grill/baffle? The cabinets don't even appear to match each other, unless I'm misreading the D130 cabinet overhang from the angle of the photo. Too small a volume for a D130 to produce what bass it is capable of, and maybe one of the 12-inchers is a passive-radiator? Not sure what kind of an ID you're looking for, but they're obviously not JBL cabinets. Whether they are home-built of re-purposed should be pretty obvious from a look at the back and the insides.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers