Thread: hearing loss

hearing loss

Okay I saw the ringing thread and thought it's time for this thread...

Anyway I have been a musician (professionally) since I was 12. My favorite rig was a Sunn Coliseum, slaves and 3 stacks. After that when my kids were born (1984/5 is when I quit playing pro) I just listened as a fan. then I got into consumer/pro sound a few years later. After that... Well stadiums and small venues with sound for arenas..... No surprise my hearing is limited....

But in the last few years, I added rave DJ and promoter to the mix and my hearing has slid so much more. Why all this????

Simple... Whatever regimen you follow a good ENT (ear, nose, throat) doc should be there. I wish I knew about it earlier, and rest assured my kids (and my old fans and now, rave kids) all are going/will be checked and be careful in the future....

Hey, Mister Tawny,

Yep. Been there, done that. It just goes to prove the old adage, "Too soon old, too late smart"! Back in the day, we used to delight in our ears ringing, heavily, after shooting large bore pistols, with no ear protection!! Yes, we were completely ignorant of the massive damage we were doing to our hearing. Later, as a musician, I never gave the high SPL's, to which we were all exposed, much thought. But, now, I think about my hearing loss all the time. Even last night, as we watched Kevin Costner's "Wyatt Earp", I began to feel that the sound was just a tad too loud, and pulled out the old Rat Shack DB meter to check it out. Our hearing and our vision are two things that we really take for granted, when we are young. As we age, both become much more important to us. Such is life, I guess.... Best of luck on your own hearing loss, and God Bless!

Every Good Wish,
    Doc
    The only thing that can never be taken away from you, is your honor. Cherish it, in yourself, and in others.