Thread: Input sensitivity?

JBL 4645

Smile Input sensitivity?

Question for you boputnam

I was reading the post that richluvsound posted about the Lexicon amplifier and something got me thinking about the (input sensitivity).

Now I know this place is to learn and yes, I’m still learning. This thing about voltage as described in the (picture).

Input sensitivity (balanced and unbalanced) so question does this have something to do with the signal travelling form the Kenwood AVR to the DCX2496 to the Alesis RA300 as there rated at (150watts into 4Ω and 90watts at 8 Ω).

Most times it doesn’t sound like I’m pushing even 50 let along 100 or close to 150watts, am I doing something wrong here.

Alesis reference manual specifications.

Alesis RA300 input sensitivity +4dbu (1.23v) for rated output with input control at maximum +26dbu

Thanks.

Input Sensitivity

The input voltage required to drive the amplifier to full rated output power at maximum gain. Usually expressed in Vrms (Volts RMS).

-------

from the QSC Glossary of Audio Terms - a great resource.

JBL 4645
    bop

Thanks for the reply.

I’ve stumbled onto this (QSC) page or a different one in the (QSC) range earlier this year. I looked under I for (input voltage) but like the saying goes in Grease “tell me more tell me more” I have a basic (voltage metre) so how do I go about at setting the voltage that will arrive at the (Alesis RA300)?

Shall I use a sine wave generated from my (Denon CD)? Or use a sine wave tone generated from the TrueRTA as there is a sound generator to send out a (pure sine wave tone).

What setting shall I set the voltage metre to, and where to place the (positive and negative terminals) do I place them on the (RCA phone outputs) and get a reading first?

Or do I place them on the outputs of the DCX2496 and take the reading from there, and take voltage readings from both the (LF and HF outputs)?