Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: JBL/UREI

JBL/UREI

I have been messing around with two JBL/UREI amps for a couple of months, and I really like them. They seem very much more Hi-fi than sound reinforcement quality to me. I will take Subwoof's word for it that they are the most solidly built solid state amps ever, they sure look like it. I have a 6260 and a 6290. The 6260 is feeding the 2245H's in my 4345's right now and it is a marriage made in heaven. They have to be the most conservatively rated ss amps on the planet. Since bi-amping connects the low pass amp directly to the voice coil, none of the damping is wasted and it sounds like over a thousand factor to me. At least the "over 200" claimed.

A neat feature is the full complementary output (PNP/NPN). This skips the usual phase inverter stage, I think, making a straighter and cleaner signal path.

I was wondering what other members think about these units, and this line in general. I was also curious if they are plentiful or scarce.

Maybe this should be on the Related Gear thread, but they are JBL's!

Thanks, Clark
    Information is not Knowledge; Knowledge is not Wisdom
    Too many audiophiles listen with their eyes instead of their ears

6230 and 6260 are the lab standard here, running all day every day. I've never owned 6290, 'cause I don't need to mess with the fan. Any amp with two power switches is overkill by design for my needs. If I ever need that much power, I figure I can use a pair of bridged 60's.

They are plentiful on eBay, in the $100 to $150 range, typically, though they've been going for more of late. Curiously, the 30's often get bid up higher than the 60's. I like the versions with 4-in-line speaker binding posts better than the quad cluster, 'cause I'm switching leads often here. No biggie.