PDA

View Full Version : Speaker Design Software Recommendations

SMKSoundPro
01-21-2006, 08:45 PM
Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am looking for some advice on loudspeaker design software. I am fairly computer literate and have built speakers for the past 25 years. I mainly work in Pro Sound Reinforcement for nightclubs and the like. I am an avid woodworker and engineer and have a vast selection of various JBL vintage components. I have a been JBL recone tech for 20 years and really love to look at this forum.

This is my first post...so please be kind!

SMKSoundPro in Anchorage, Alaska.

boputnam
01-21-2006, 08:55 PM
"Please be kind..."

HA!! You sir, are likely a renegade from ProSound Web. They take no prisoners there, boy howdy. Here, we are a quite a bit more civil. Rest assured... :p

On the software, there's two we use a great deal.
- One is freeware: WinISD - check it out, here: http://www.linearteam.dk/, and make a donation to them if you see fit.
- Another is BassBoxPro - check it out here: http://www.partsexpress.com/webpage.cfm?&DID=7&WebPage_ID=3 PartsExpress is one of our favored sources.

Both packages contain databases of Thiele-Small parameters for most every driver you might be considering. As well, if you're modelling something with a JBL tranducer in it, use the Search function here, with some inventive strings, and you might find some very intersting DIY stuff.

As well, there are quite a number of real network (crossover) gurus here - so if you're looking for ideas or wanna share some, it'll all be good.

btw, what are you planning...? :hmm:

SMKSoundPro
01-21-2006, 08:58 PM
I just tried WInisd, and found it to be ok. I was looking for something more comprehensive in the vented enclosure that gives a easier to understand porting and venting. I still use "Speaker Builing" book by Weems, 1978.

yggdrasil
01-22-2006, 02:24 AM