PDA

View Full Version : Velodyne Subs

louped garouv
06-01-2005, 02:12 PM
I was reading through old posts and noticed this......

Have you guys heard the velodyne subs? are they all powered? All the ones I have noticed on Epay have been 10/12" actives......

just curious.....

Well, I can only speak for the guys here at Universal Music. Jimmy Iovine has in his office, large Tannoys powered by Bryston amps, and in his main conference room it is 6 Dynaudios, 2 Velodyne Subs and one Tannoy center speaker. This is the most incredible system I have yet heard, though probably not what would be considered audiophile.

Fred Durst,

Genelics

Ron Fair, A&M Records President,
Yamaha NS10's powered by Bryston
Dynaudios and Velodyne

Jordan Shur, Geffen Records President,

Office; Tannoys powered by Bryston, Velodyne sub
Private conference room; Dynaudios and Velodyne sub

From what I know, and being a musician myself, Most musicians rarely just sit to listen to music. they are amost always listening to evaluate or learn from what is on the disc. Most are more concerned with the system in their car than the one in their home. Most of them have some sort of home studio as well and in there it is usually nearfield monitors.

Blessings, Terry

Audiobeer
06-01-2005, 09:02 PM
They used to be "the sub". Now the competition is thick. They still are very nice and depending on the money still could be the best dollar for dollar. They sell a crapload of subs in all price ranges. Some for HT and others for audiophiles. I have owned a couple in the past for home theater use and I always liked them.

Mr. Widget
06-03-2005, 12:37 AM
I have a Velodyne HGS 10... the smallest in the HGS series and purportedly the most musical. A couple of years ago the HGS series was their TOTL... they have a couple of more advanced designs now that include a calibrated mic and subwoofer EQ.