PDA

View Full Version : Finally Got the JBL 4345

Dev
10-30-2021, 04:33 AM
Hi, Greetings to everyone. After a long search I found a pair of 4345 and now waiting for the recone kit to arrive. Meanwhile thought of getting rid of that infamous :banghead: switch in the crossover.
Will share the pictures before I start disturbing you guys with my questions.

Dev
10-30-2021, 05:37 AM
The crossover

Dev
10-30-2021, 09:07 PM
The Switch in the Crossover of JBL 4345.
how to wire it directly without using this switch? I went through Warpigs thread , but that was a different kind of switch :dont-know: please advice how to go about it.

Thanks in advance.

Dev
11-04-2021, 11:22 PM
Hi , can anyone let me know how to get rid of the Switch and wire it directly? Or just cleaning it with deoxit is good enough?
thanks

Odd
11-05-2021, 03:43 AM
I have no experience with this filter but here is the wiring diagram.

You can see here what the switch does.

Earl K
11-05-2021, 06:27 AM
http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=89829&stc=1&d=1635652772

By far the simplest approach is to bundle the mess off to someone who actually recognizes what they are looking at ( and then have that same person add 6 bypass wires at the proper locations // essentially doubling up the connections being made by the switch ) .

I would add//solder these bypass wires onto the lower "L-shaped" leads that are themselves soldered into the ( unseen ) circuit board traces .

Those switches are too heavily corroded for cleaner ( IME ). Cleaner won't remove that black oxidization ( only applied abrasion >> not recommended since the switch will fall apart under the duress of filing ).

:)

Dev
11-05-2021, 07:19 AM
Thanks Odd for the diagram and thanks Earl, will sent it to a service guy. I don’t think I can do it myself.
Any pictures of how the wiring is done?

Earl K
11-05-2021, 07:54 AM