PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here! 4312 Refurbish

TerrapinBill
11-10-2020, 06:31 AM
Hello,

I just got a free pair of 4312-A speakers. They have no woofers, Mid Range or a tweeters. If it is a toss away that is fine, but I was interested in fixing them if possible with upgraded parts. The crossovers are still intact. What says you?

bedrock602
11-10-2020, 08:01 AM
Hello,

I just got a free pair of 4312-A speakers. They have no woofers, Mid Range or a tweeters. If it is a toss away that is fine, but I was interested in fixing them if possible with upgraded parts. The crossovers are still intact. What says you?

Don't toss them, you're more than half-way to having a nice set of vintage JBL's. If they were mine, I'd look for some 2213H woofers, 104H-3 mids and 035ti tweeters on ebay.

BTW, I'm a newbie too so I understand the impulse to "upgrade" them. Keep in mind that JBL speakers are designed and built by professionals with the resources of research and development that go back to the 1940's, they knew what they were doing.

I would encourage you to enjoy them as they were designed and built, including the original crossovers with original capacitors. If you find that you don't like the sound, pass them along to someone else.

TerrapinBill
11-10-2020, 09:06 AM
Don't toss them, you're more than half-way to having a nice set of vintage JBL's. If they were mine, I'd look for some 2213H woofers, 104H-3 mids and 035ti tweeters on ebay.

BTW, I'm a newbie too so I understand the impulse to "upgrade" them. Keep in mind that JBL speakers are designed and built by professionals with the resources of research and development that go back to the 1940's, they knew what they were doing.

I would encourage you to enjoy them as they were designed and built, including the original crossovers with original capacitors. If you find that you don't like the sound, pass them along to someone else.