PDA

View Full Version : Testing some used 2225 drivers

budney
08-23-2017, 05:43 PM
I've found some 2225 drivers locally but I've never bought some vintage drivers before so was hoping that someone could detail some tests I can do to ensure they're in proper condition. I had planned on running pink noise through them and check they all sound the same but other than that I'm not sure what to do.

I've attached some photos, do they look like the real deal? Seem to be in alright condition visually but i wouldn't be able to tell if they're the original cones or aftermarket ones, seller says they're original cones and haven't been used much. Thanks!

speakerdave
08-23-2017, 10:59 PM
I'm not an expert, but I think those are the correct cones, although they look well-traveled, and because they are sound reenfircement drivers, that means they are probaby pretty wrung out.

My question is, What do you want them to do? I would not recommend them for hi fi use. The beauty part, though, is the frame and magnet are identical to the 2235/2234. If they are priced correctly for cores to be reconed as real hi fi woofers, then they would be worthwhile. That would be my suggestion.

budney
08-24-2017, 03:46 AM
Im building some 4520 replicas, so my main use would be sound reinforcement for some parties. With them being 20-30 years old I'm not really holding out on finding any in mint condition and I'm in the UK so buying on ebay and shipping is not something I want to do. They don't pop up often here so I've not got much choice.

I was just wondering if there was anything I can specifically look out for to show that they're a bit weathered, so maybe I can haggle the price down a bit, other than just looking at them and seeing that they've been used.

speakerdave
08-24-2017, 11:32 AM