PDA

View Full Version : Is this even technically possible...

Ed Zeppeli
01-13-2017, 04:46 PM
...without some kind of notch filter?

I did close measurement (3") centred on the dustcap to see how my cabinet was performing. Looks pretty good I must say until the 50DB DROP @ 795 HZ!

So is this even possible without some sort of notch filter engaged? Bad woofer? Odd mic anomaly? Something else I'm missing here? I'd bypassed all EQ and any feedback elimination within the driverack is off.

I will continue troubleshooting and checking the other side etc but any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Warren

srm51555
01-13-2017, 05:15 PM
I just read today that if you have a dip at the crossover frequency you may need to invert the phase of one the drivers. But I am very new at this so others may chime in with a better answer.

See step four in the link below.

https://www.minidsp.com/applications/digital-crossovers/stereo-2-way-xover

Ed Zeppeli
01-13-2017, 05:27 PM
That's the thing. I changed the crossover to about 1k and this is a single close range measurement of the 2234H driver. All other drivers muted.

grumpy
01-13-2017, 05:35 PM
That's deep and narrow, even for an intentional passive notch filter or driver cancellation.
This is in-box? and no crossover? I'd try moving the mic ... but that looks suspicious.

1audiohack
01-13-2017, 06:14 PM
That's deep and narrow,...

Yeah if you don't have a hard reflection with a path length of about 8.5" like the back of an uninsulated box or a box buzz, thats a mystery.

My measurements of standing wave notches reveal that they are only several Hz wide and deep indeed.

Swap drivers?

Barry.

Ed Zeppeli
01-13-2017, 06:14 PM
That's deep and narrow, even for an intentional passive notch filter or driver cancellation.
This is in-box? and no crossover? I'd try moving the mic ... but that looks suspicious.

Suspicious.