PDA

View Full Version : 076, 3105, 2410 and 2225 or e130 cabinet design

GoldcountryJim
03-15-2012, 10:42 PM
I'm new to the forum, so I hope this is an appropriate place for this.

I'm a former musician and found some "odds and ends" in a couple boxes in my garage. The items include one 076, one 2403, two (still in the box) 3105 crossovers, two 2225's and two e130's. This stuff was boxed up 20 years ago and kept dry. Everything works. I'm trying to come up with a cabinet design that would use some of these components. I've looked at 4333 clones, but also checked the JBL enclosure guide found in this site's library for ideas. I'm good with woodworking and thought 2397 clones out of claro walnut would be a nice match to the 2410's. If I go with the e130's in a cabinet straight from the enclosure guide, I could put the 076/2403 in it and put the 2397/2410 horn on top. The e130 cabinet is tuned to 40hz at 3 cubic ft. The guide also has an enclosure for the 2225's, but it is also tuned to 40hz. Doesn't seem to be a gain on the low end.

Of course I'll need crossovers for 800hz-1200hz. I was thinking of cloning some 3110/3110a's. With these crossovers and the other components, I should be able to get a fairly flat response from 40hz to over 20Khz.

I'm just in need of a little input before putting a lot of time into cabinets. I'm happy to find this stuff, but its incomplete and raises some questions about design. I'm guessing that's why I put it all in the boxes to begin with.

Here's a link to the 2397 design:
http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?5114-2328-2397-transition&p=48096&viewfull=1#post48096

JBl spec sheet for 2397 (measurements slightly different from above link)
http://www.lansingheritage.org/images/jbl/specs/pro-comp/2397/page2.jpg

And here's the link to the Enclosure Guide with dimensions, tuning and other helpful information:
http://www.jblpro.com/catalog/support/getfile.aspx?docid=219&doctype=3

GoldcountryJim
03-18-2012, 08:51 AM