PDA

View Full Version : Newb wants to know the interaction of a N2400 network

Bemopti123
08-26-2010, 06:50 PM
Hi, I am a newb who just purchased a pair of N2400 JBL crossovers in an Ebay auction. I have read that some of these crossovers are either 8 or 16 ohms, most of them being 8 ohm?

The question I have is when I go hunting for other components that go along with these crossovers. I see many JBL 075 tweeters that are either 16 or 8 ohm and older entire systems being 16 ohms.

What would be the issue with interactivity when I go hunting for components, I am right now pretty ignorant about the ohm of the crossover I purchased thus I am puzzled with which sort of components I should go searching for.... 8 or 16 ohm?

If I actually have purchased a 8 ohm crossover, is there anyway these can be electrically changed to make them into 16 or something similar?

Anyway, any experiences and opinions would be appreciated for a total newb.

Thanks.

Paul from NYC

JeffW
08-26-2010, 08:21 PM
Here's a link to the schematic,

http://www.jblproservice.com/pdf/Network%20Schematics/N2400.pdf

somebody else will have to address the impedence issue except that the 075 are all the same, regardless of how they are labeled
Here's that link

http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?23869-075-2402-076-2403-2404-077-2405

Bemopti123
08-31-2010, 09:01 AM
Thanks for the info. So, all 075s are what they are 8 ohms, regardless of the fact that they are being advertised as 16 ohms....but the bidding feast that is happening for those labelled 16 ohms in Ebay is really puzzling, why almost double the price if they are the same as the 8 ohm version? Perhaps the bidders in question know something that some other people don't?

It is truly puzzling.

Paul

scott fitlin
08-31-2010, 11:31 AM