PDA

View Full Version : JBL 4350B rebuild/restoration question

R-Carpenter
05-09-2010, 06:23 AM
Hi Guys and Gals. First time posting on this forum.
I am rebuilding/restoring a pair of 4350B JBL for a client.
He wants to veneer case work in Ebony Macasar and possibly the front as well (may be in fiddle back maple) No question, they will look fantastic after I am done, but in this case whats the "Heritage" point of view? Would it be looked at as a nice work but the owner made mistake of not restoring the loudspeaker to the original state with Walnut veneer and blue front baffle?
Pleas advise folks, this is my first time in the antique JBL country.:)

BMWCCA
05-09-2010, 06:41 AM
I'm guessing some might call it a sacrilege to do custom work to a rare and desirable vintage JBL pro monitor. Those same folks would likely praise the same custom work if it were used in creating a new clone of the original. :dont-know:

It's really up to the owner who will, hopefully and ultimately, use the finished product to enjoy the sound of music. And that's really what it's all about, right?

hjames
05-09-2010, 07:49 AM
If the intent is to maintain collector's value, then it needs to be refreshed with stock looks, as that is what most collectors favor. But many times, its hard finding just the right collector to get maximum return on your investment.

If its meant to be just enjoyed, maintain the stock parts and use the veneer and finishes that work for you.

Really big speakers like 4350Bs are personal statements anyway - there is NOT a hot mob of fans chasing after them - their sale its very much dependent on the market at a given moment.

ED: Just added the link to these 4435s that Dan redid a while back -
with the economy sliding, they didn't bring nearly the money he put into them, but - they sure looked nice in the pix!

http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/attachment.php?attachmentid=37949&stc=1&d=1236969937