PDA

View Full Version : impedance ohm question

pluton123
06-29-2009, 12:10 PM
HY,

I will like to know how to calculate the impedance of a loudspeaker 3 ways:low,mid,high drivers? Let's say that I have a woofer 8 ohm
a mid 4 ohm and
an high driver 16 ohm

What will be the "resulting" impedance of this loudspeaker driven with a single stereo amplifier (no bi or tri amplified).

Thank You, Robert

louped garouv
06-29-2009, 12:45 PM
i'm no expert, but i think the impedance of each driver will change over the freq. reproduction demands seen each said driver...

here's a thread somewhere else that talks this...

http://www.audiokarma.org/forums/showthread.php?t=99749

jcrobso
06-29-2009, 12:59 PM
HY,

I will like to know how to calculate the impedance of a loudspeaker 3 ways:low,mid,high drivers? Let's say that I have a woofer 8 ohm
a mid 4 ohm and
an high driver 16 ohm

What will be the "resulting" impedance of this loudspeaker driven with a single stereo amplifier (no bi or tri amplified).

Thank You, Robert

The one item that you are leaving out is the crossover network. each section of the crossover network work have to be designed for each speaker. The low pass section would be for a 8 ohm woofer, the band pass for a 4 ohm mid range and the high pass section of a 16 ohm tweeter.
By the time you did this and put it all together you would have about a 2.8 ohm impedance load

Mr. Widget
06-29-2009, 01:02 PM
What will be the "resulting" impedance of this loudspeaker...First of all, there is no such thing as an 8 ohm or 4 ohm loudspeaker. If you've ever read a review of a speaker where they do technical measurements you will see a graph of the system's actual impedance. Typically a "4 ohm" loudspeaker will not dip below 4 ohms and it is therefore called 4 ohm... every speaker and every driver will exhibit a different impedance at every frequency, but it gets much more complicated than that. :D

Read this:

http://www.stereophile.com/reference/707heavy/

Widget

grumpy