PDA

View Full Version : Altec 291a/329a/414 & Jbl 2405??

timmytimtams
12-18-2008, 07:59 PM
Greetings to all forum members.

Just recently acquired an Altec speaker system. running 291A in a wooden 329a clone horn, 414 bass & JBL 2045 tweeter in a petite onken enclosure, crossed over with solen parts. i drove the system with a nice 8 watted 300b SET. to my ear it made lovely music, especially the beautifully etched mids, sweet highs, but somewhat lacking in the bottom oomphs.
Im a novice with all this vintage altec/JBL stuff.

i have a few knowledgeable friends who commented on how odd the combination was. greatly appreciated if any forum members could give their views on the setup. Very much would like to be educated. Thankyou in advance

jandregg
12-18-2008, 09:22 PM
Nice looking horn. How do you like it?

John

Tom Brennan
12-19-2008, 12:18 PM
The 414 is highly valued for it's gorgeous reproduction of mid and upper bass and midrange but isn't really noted for low bass capabilites. If you feel the need for more oomph on the bottom you may need a sub. More oomph in general can come from using double 414s per side as in the Heath AS-21.

Your combination may seem odd to some but it's sensible and I've no doubt it's capable of very fine sound.

timmytimtams
12-21-2008, 07:54 AM
Hello John & Tom. Seasons greetings to you both. John, the altec sounded just wonderful especially with small ensemble vocal jazz, it threw out a vast soundstage, vocals are rendered beautifully. i guess one way to discribe it, is very analogue & coloured (nice) sounding.

Tom, thankyou for your kind advices. if time & funds permits i must look into getting a sub or extra 414s for each bin as you have suggested. One thing i would like to ask you is the demagnitising of the 291-16a compressor drivers. what does that actually achieves & is it worth while for me to getting it done? i heard the demagnitization of drivers bring it back to is original sounding best.

timmy

speakerdave