PDA

View Full Version : Caps in Parallel?

KT88Lover
12-12-2008, 02:06 PM
Hi,
My first post here, I've been a lurker. Great site!

My question is: do you think that paralleling capacitors to achieve a non-standard or unavailable value in a first order network could or would have a negative impact on sound? This as compared to a single cap.

For the sake of the question, let's assume there is nothing available within 10% of the manufacture's specified value.

Time smear perhaps?

I'm a novice so don't laugh. :)

Jim

KT88Lover
12-12-2008, 03:53 PM
I guess a simpler way of asking is:
Does a pair or more of paralleled caps do more harm than a single cap of the same value? Everything else being equal.
Thanks again guys!
Jim

Ian Mackenzie
12-12-2008, 09:00 PM
Do some searches, this was covered recently

KT88Lover
12-13-2008, 04:30 PM

How about a tip in the right direction? :)

Jim

KT88Lover
12-13-2008, 04:34 PM

I just found one discussion.

Thanks
Jim

KT88Lover
12-13-2008, 05:02 PM
I just found one discussion.

Thanks
Jim

Well, not really.

Just arguments about charge coupling and the like, and whether JBL knows what they're doing. :(

I don't possess enough technical expertise to understand most of what's up for discussion. At least not to the point to use charts and graphs to just argue and harangue over two schools of thought.

I was just interested in some knowledgeable feedback on if I would suffer any aurally perceptible degradation from "piggy backing" caps to achieve a desired value.

Looks like I stumbled into a big am too, are not kind of a thing.

Thanks for your help.
Jim

Ian Mackenzie
12-13-2008, 05:07 PM
Hi,
My first post here, I've been a lurker. Great site!

My question is: do you think that paralleling capacitors to achieve a non-standard or unavailable value in a first order network could or would have a negative impact on sound? This as compared to a single cap.