PDA

View Full Version : Newly built L300 Crossover

CauYem
12-02-2008, 02:51 PM
I build this network based on the simulations on "13.5 uF" thread. I bought parts from Part Express. Each components were individually measured (using a digital Philips LCR) to make sure they are within the specs, and also recorded its ESR & Q for simulations. They are within 2% of the nominal values, some are right on (Dayton Caps). I used (2) 440uF polarized cap in series (+--+) to make a 200uF cap (actual measurement is 216.3 uF @1KHz) since (2) Dayton 100uF took half of the board area. I'll repalce it with a 200uF bipolar later.

This is my first time ever to build an audio crossover networks, even though I have build many filters & dividing networks (Multiplexers) for military & space programs (up to 5 channels/5-ways & frequency up to 34 GHz). This circuit based on the same techniques I used for communication systems, which provide a constant input impedance & steeper slope/octave with minimal components used.

All the components are standard values (1.8, 2.4, 3.3, 4.7 .. 68, 82... not odd number like "13.5 uF":)). The simulations of the circuit are on the "13.5 uF" thread along with both JBL L300 networks (regular & "charge coupled").

Each crossover took almost half of a day to build since I have to work off & on, and laid them out on the board (10" X 6" X 0.5" piece of wood) as I soldered them along. I should have measured each component dimensions then layout on CAD program so it doesn't take up a lot of area on the board. I wound the 0.068 mH myself so it doesn't look as pretty as the inductors I bought. They don't sell the 0.068mH. The network will replace the JBL network in my pseudo L300 (L200 + N8000 + 077).