PDA

View Full Version : Is symmetry mandatory in speakers?

beppe61
09-22-2007, 04:47 AM
Sometimes I see that in speakers with an asymmetric drivers placement the L speaker is the mirror image of the R speaker.
This is found also in some circuits of pres and amps.
I mean if a speaker has the tweeter moved to the center also the other one has a similar TW arrangement.
My opinion instead is that the two L and R speakers should have a completely identical drivers arrangement even if this results in some asymmetry.
It is also a cheaper solution because L and R are obviously completely interchangable.

Kind regards,

beppe

timc
09-22-2007, 05:40 AM
I may be on thin ice here, but don't you get less difraction with an asymetrical placement?

Tim

beppe61
09-23-2007, 01:52 AM
[quote=timc;186314]I may be on thin ice here, but don't you get less difraction with an asymetrical placement? Tim

Thank you Mr Tim for your kind reply.
I am not an expert on difraction.
My doubt is more basic.
On principle I believe that L and R channel should be completely identical from the beginning to the end of the audio chain.
Therefore also the speakers should be identical.
No L or R speaker even if the drivers have an asymmetrical arrangement.
Instead I see a lot of speakers with an asymmetrical arrangement of the drivers in which the L speaker is the mirror image of the R.
Symmetry is certainly beautiful to the eye, but also to the ear ?

Kind regards,

beppe

P.S. an example are the JBL S2600 depicted here:
http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=8113&page=5 (http://www.audioheritage.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=8113&page=5)
For instance two identical L speakers for the L and R channels should sound worst than a L and a R speakers?

timc
09-23-2007, 02:11 AM
Hi.

In this case using 2 L speakers would be way off. Because the asymetrical coverage of the horn.

So what you are saying is that a design like the Evereste DD55000 is bad ? (just an example)

-Tim