View Full Version : JBL 2350 horn questions/ Please advise

virmagicus
09-03-2007, 01:23 PM
http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w62/virmagicus/f82b_1.jpg

Model 2470
Model 2327
Model 2328
Model 2350

I have a couple questions about the following horn that I have just picked up for $ 100.00 for the pair. I am just now getting into a small project and would like to know the correct way to test these. I have been strictly a floor speaker guy for the last 20 years. I am a newbie when it comes to horns. Will I have to run these through a crossover to verify that they work ? These are 16 ohm. I curently have a DBX made amp rated at 250 @ 8 ohm. I would also like to know the correct crossover for this setup. And any necessary info for testing before I test them. I do have a good multimeter. Thanks for any help.

ChopsMX5
09-03-2007, 01:34 PM
My help will only be very minimal, but...

Yes, I would say it would definately be advised to run them through a crossover, even if it's just a simple capacitor of proper size and value to knock out any bass that could get to the driver and fry it.

As for the DBX amp, I'm assuming it's most likely the old subwoofer amp that they made years ago for comsumer use? Anyway, it will be fine running the 16 ohm driver.

BTW, nice catch on the horns/drivers for only a 100 bucks! :applaud:

virmagicus
09-03-2007, 01:48 PM
My help will only be very minimal, but...

Yes, I would say it would definately be advised to run them through a crossover, even if it's just a simple capacitor of proper size and value to knock out any bass that could get to the driver and fry it.

I figured ... I was unsure if I cutout the lows If it would be ok at low volumes to test.

As for the DBX amp, I'm assuming it's most likely the old subwoofer amp that they made years ago for comsumer use? Anyway, it will be fine running the 16 ohm driver.

It is a configurable b-200

grumpy
09-04-2007, 07:48 AM
2470 info: