PDA

View Full Version : Former soundman's system

Max SPL
08-27-2007, 09:18 PM
I was a live sound engineer for about 20 years, and my choice of equipment kind of reflects this.

My speakers are JBL 4311A (bottom) and 4311B (top)
TV is Sony Wega 32"

For electronics, I'm using:
Soundcraft Spirit M8 (preamp)
dbx 231 dual 1/3 octave EQ
Sony DVD/CD player (temporary until I get a Tascam with balanced outputs)
Aphex 204 psychoacoustics processor (great for broadcast & old recordings)
Lexicon MPX 110 digital effects (adding "life" to TV sound)
Crown CE 1000 power amp (450 w/ch @ 4 ohms)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v280/Pixilater/avsystem/002.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v280/Pixilater/avsystem/001.jpg

johnaec
08-27-2007, 10:26 PM
I'll bet it sounds pretty good if it's EQ'd right. (I notice someone along the line had "curious fingers" testing the domes... :p )

John

pelly3s
08-28-2007, 05:11 PM
you should get those domes fixed they will look a lot better. nice setup

JBLRaiser
08-28-2007, 06:24 PM
you should get those domes fixed they will look a lot better. nice setup

Mr. Oreck could fix those domes. Easy now.:D

boputnam
08-28-2007, 06:26 PM
Wow - pretty cool...

I see some extra rack space - either sell it to me :rotfl: - or consider upping that EQ in quality. The 231 is OK, but better would be noticeable (and most GEQ's are 3RU).

Curious why you avoided the stereo strips, using two mono strips for inputs, instead? :hmm:

I like Soundcraft a great deal.

Max SPL
08-29-2007, 06:20 AM
Thanks for the replies !

jonaec - I got the JBLs used on eBay, and the dented domes seem to be a common denominator. I don't know who is responsible, so I have no one to chastize.