+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: STP speaker wire

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member louped garouv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    formerly "the city where imagination takes precedence over fact"
    Posts
    2,148

    STP speaker wire

    anyoen use shielded twisted pair type speaker cable?

    have run into some RFI issues when 'finishing' the wiring of my system....


    from some 'quick and dirty' reading seems as this may (or may not) solve the unwanted radio station on my system....

    each stack's speaker cable runs are about 10' and 30', four channels per stack

  2. #2
    Moderator / Treasurer/Marketplace Czar boputnam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    northern california
    Posts
    6,902
    Quote Originally Posted by louped garouv
    anyone use shielded twisted pair type speaker cable?
    Yes, always. I have no RF noise issues.

    Can you position your amps closer to the "stacks" and then make your "long runs" some balanced cables? Would save wire costs, while reducing noise (although I'm surprised you have much noise in those relatively short runs... )
    bo

    "Indeed, not!!"

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    814
    Quote Originally Posted by boputnam
    (although I'm surprised you have much noise in those relatively short runs... )
    Yeah, me too. What are your neighbors up to?

  4. #4
    Senior Member louped garouv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    formerly "the city where imagination takes precedence over fact"
    Posts
    2,148
    Quote Originally Posted by hapy._.face
    Yeah, me too. What are your neighbors up to?
    scared to think.....

  5. #5
    Senior Member louped garouv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    formerly "the city where imagination takes precedence over fact"
    Posts
    2,148
    Quote Originally Posted by boputnam
    Yes, always. I have no RF noise issues.

    Can you position your amps closer to the "stacks" and then make your "long runs" some balanced cables? Would save wire costs, while reducing noise (although I'm surprised you have much noise in those relatively short runs... )
    unfortunately, not possible to switch to balanced connections... my Xover is single ended piece....

    (the gear is highly sought after --- sounded great before I tried to place the last leg of the system (subwoofer feed) into service..... then all of a sudden when i powered up, the radio station appears)

    looks like I will be in for some fun STP wiring....

  6. #6
    Senior Member louped garouv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    formerly "the city where imagination takes precedence over fact"
    Posts
    2,148

    wrap your head around this....

    got home yesterday night, powered up the stereo, no noticable RFI..... just clean audio

    still need to upgrade teh speaker cable to prevent RFI in the future though...

  7. #7
    RIP 2010 scott fitlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    4,657
    Quote Originally Posted by louped garouv
    got home yesterday night, powered up the stereo, no noticable RFI..... just clean audio

    still need to upgrade teh speaker cable to prevent RFI in the future though...
    You could try some ferrite cores, placed on the cable itself right where they connect to the amps inputs! Will keep the RF out of your amp, if this is the problem.

    Small enough, and cheap enough ones available at Radio Shack, worth a try!
    scottyj

  8. #8
    Senior Member 4343's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    SJ, CA
    Posts
    460

    AM Station Bleed

    Quote Originally Posted by louped garouv
    got home yesterday night, powered up the stereo, no noticable RFI..... just clean audio

    still need to upgrade teh speaker cable to prevent RFI in the future though...
    Check your grounds... Last time I heard an AM station in the speakers whenever the amp was on it turned out the speaker wires inside the walls were grounded to the conduit at one end.
    Mike Scott in SJ, CA
    Drive 'em to the Xmax!

  9. #9
    RIP 2010 scott fitlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    4,657
    I was reading one of my engineering encyclopedias last night, and it was explaining that they ground the chassis of an amp to the earth ground, and having the chassis connected to earth keeps the RF in or out of the amp, whatever the case may be!

    Is the amp your using when this occurs properly grounded?
    scottyj

  10. #10
    Senior Member louped garouv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    formerly "the city where imagination takes precedence over fact"
    Posts
    2,148
    The amp is grounded fine to the best of my knowledge....

    I think I found the issue to be:





    me not grounding my White 4400s.....


    I was running my system with the Eqs in the loop of my preamp, no issues

    when I got my crossover back from the tech, decided to try to run the preamp into the EQ into the crossover -- no problems at first (when I was hooking up the first three channels (tweeters, mid-bass, bass) -- then when i tried to add the final leg (subbass), I got the radio station



    so i went out and got some more wire, sheilded 18ga 4 conductor copper strands (to save some unsightly wire runs)... still had the RFI

    so then I went and swapped what I should have in the first place and put the EQs back into the loop, RFI disappeared -- I guess i had some sort of false confidence that this was not the issue, due to me having the first three legs up and runnign with no RFI issues... (I was wrong)

    I need to get some spade lugs and properly ground the EQs and see if that was in fact the issue, but with me running the EQs in the loop, I am having no issues....






    should have checked the ground on the EQs first



    on another 'good practice' note, I also moved the speakers to the other side of my room and put the amp rack closer to them... now the amps are about 8ft on each side of the amp rack....

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. speaker cable or wire
    By LesConnally in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-04-2007, 08:39 PM
  2. speaker wire guidelines
    By lodoc in forum General Audio Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-20-2006, 10:02 AM
  3. Interconnect cables and Speaker wire
    By ooppalla in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2004, 01:38 PM
  4. Changing speaker wire connectors on 4311B's
    By soundhd in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2004, 08:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts