Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: putting new trim pots in a amp

putting new trim pots in a amp

http://www.tnt-audio.com/clinica/bias_e.html

Has anybody here done this mod
    I would like to hear your results as i have an old technics amp i would like to fixup!
    And think this would be an ideal place to start
    thanks
    morbo!
    Last edited by morbo!; 10-27-2005 at 04:02 PM. Reason: cause im a forum noob

Regis
    I am contemplating replacing the trim-pots on my vintage Sansui G-22000 reciever, as the old ones were very twitchy when I was setting up the DC bias and offset. Even with a precision B-K multimeter, the slightest turn would send the values rocketing from one extreme to another. Very frustrating and your post has me thinking now. To replace the junk pots with precision sealed multiturn pots would be far better than replacing them with the previous junk.

My only problem is with access. My pots are 'straight-on' adjusted through holes in the sheet metal chassis surrounding the amplifier driver boards, These would be a 90 degree change. Remember, the power is on when you're doing this and you sure don't want the screwdriver to short out anything and possibly ruin a bunch of un-obtanium vintage TO-3 cased power tranny's. Gotta do some thinking about that, but thanks, as I will look into this option.

Yeah thanks i got an old sansui down the shed packed away somewhere
    It keeps tripping out when big volume is applied. z-7000 from what i could just tell from the im my dark shed
    It might be the cure for this old baby too
    i haven`t thought about this amp in 6 years (lol)
    it was never very good anyway as far as i was concerned

morbo!

maybe in the for sale section soon

Bias mods

Be careful,some of those old Technics amps were labled "NEW CLASS A" and wouldn't pull the skin off a rice pudding".
    They had some weird bias setting and when you screwed with that they went bang in a very nasty way!
    Have fun
    Michael