Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Project with JBL's 4647 and 2445

New Project with JBL's 4647 and 2445

For those of us who would not take our antique JBL's on the Antique Road Show, here is one of us, needing to build a home stereo system from the JBL 4647 (Woofer) ; boxed and the 2245 (Horns) ; not boxed

I am very new to all this-a wanna be audiophile, with tons of love for great sounding music.

I plan on making these part of my home music system. I would love your input on what I want to do.

1. Suggestions on putting the 4647 in a home-hospitable box. It's present box will never be tolerated by my girlfriend. Never.
    2. I would love to do the same for the 2245
    3. Suggestions on Midranges that would complement these two.
    4. Suggestions on other equipments; EQ, PREAMP and methods of connections that would bring the best out.

In short, you will help me, if you would be so kind, and with your knoweldge, build my first ever decent stereo system.
    Thanks for reading. I will carefully read and fully consider ALL responses. I will post pictures up and, describing and listing all information about the system. We will all look at it as having a little part of us on it; the system.
    Thanks again.
    Michael.

http://www.jblproservice.com/pdf/The...eries/4647.pdf

Your woofer is either 2225H or 2226H, depending upon whether you have the "A" version of 4647. In either case, they (the woofers, themselves) don't have very much extended bass. Well, none, actually....

2445 is a driver. We need to know what horn it's on. A pic will tell us, if you don't know.

4647 cabinet can be finished nicely with a custom inset grille (using JBL Monitor Blue grille cloth, of course ). They are very sturdily constructed, as you no doubt know from moving them, with extra-thick front baffles, well worth using.