Thread: My band's PA (tools, or toys... you decide)

My band's PA (tools, or toys... you decide)

Hi, my name is Chad and I'm a new member here. I have been an audiophile and JBL - ophile for many years. Lots of interesting reading here, thanks for sharing your stories. I am a performing musician, I enjoy configuring our PA and mixing our band as we gig nearly every weekend. I thought I'd share some details of our system and maybe swap some stories about the live performance aspect of audio.

Our system:

Mixer: Mackie CFX-16 - This board has been a jewel since the day I bought it, the features and performance have been invaluable.

Crossover: DBX 223XL - the price / performance ratio is right on

Mid- high amp: QSC plx 3002 running 900 wpc @ 4 ohms

Sub amp: QSC plx 1602, running 1600 w bridged into 4 ohms (2 subs paralleled)

Monitor amp: QSC rmx 1850HD running 360 w @ 8 ohms into my monitor, 600 w @ 4 ohms into the drummer's monitor

Monitor EQ: DBX 215

Mid-high cabinets: Yamaha S215 IV (2 x 15" with a 2" horn driver)

Sub cabinets: Yamaha SW118IV (1 x 18")

Monitor cabinets: JBL MR802 for me and the guitar player, and the drummer uses a Peavey 2 x 15 w horn.

This system is a joy to operate, half the fun of performing is setting up this system and putting on a cd while we finish setting up our stage gear. In bigger rooms, we wish we had a 4 x 18 subwoofer system (like a pair of JBL SR 4719 with a hefty power amp), but that requires some serious investment in money, storage, and handling .

By the way... the only component of our system that has been a bit unreliable is the 2416 hi freq. compression drivers in my JBL MR 802 cabinets.... I hear that the Radian diaphragms are sweeter sounding and a bit more robust in demanding applications.

pelly3s