Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Home theater question...

Home theater question...

Hi folks, I just found this forum on Google and immediately signed up. I bought my first JBL's in 1970 - four D140F's while playing bass guitar (wish I had them back.... ) and have owned some kind of JBL ever since.

Anyway, I just got a plasma tv and a Yamaha RX-V2500 receiver and now want to work on the speakers. I presently have two 4430's I bought new in the mid 80's and would like to continue using those. I also just bought an LSR6312SP sub-woofer that I'm very pleased with.

What should I look for in a center speaker, and the surrounds? I was looking at the HT4Hs.....but I'm not sure. (I have no problem building cabs, if nec) I also have two 2404H's on order (not here yet) that we could use.

BTW, I've been a musician for 40+ years and my ears are extremely "hammered", therefore I like a brighter sound to compensate.

Thanks a million,
    Hamilton
    There are two theories to arguing with women, but...neither has worked.

Hello Hamilton, I'm in the same situation. I will be using 4430 for lt & Rt, 2 4313Bs for the centers and 4313Bs on the other channels. Still haven't decided on the sub. It will be interesting to see what the other 4430 owners are doing......oh yes and former owners.

Hi Hamilton...BTW really cool amp collection you have .

Since you seem to be handy with tools...why not clone or otherwise acquire a 4430 for the center channel? The ideal surround setup is identical speakers for all channels, just like in the sound designers studio. Everything would be voiced the same, and you have something closer to what the movie studio intended...unless of course space is a consideration...and it usually is .

Good luck and welcome...

Edgewound
    Edgewound...JBL Pro Authorized...since 1988
    Upland Loudspeaker Service, Upland, CA

clmrt