+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: 4430 X-Over

  1. #1
    Senior Member "Duke" Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    144

    4430 X-Over

    any mod's ..??

    i just bought some 4430's

    notice no "SCORE"...

    do ht ecrossvers usually need work, any suggested mod
    's ..??

  2. #2
    RIP 2011 Zilch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    9,985
    No mods needed. Replace bypass caps with Thetas, if you MUST mess with 'em....

  3. #3
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    8,497
    Quote Originally Posted by "Duke" Spinner
    any mod's ..??

    i just bought some 4430's
    Congratulations and welcome to the madness!

    I am not a mod man... more of a build it myself to begin with type.

    I would suggest you check out the drivers as it is likely they have been played hard and are not what they once were.

    Zilch, those things are likely 20 years old... don't you think the crossover caps might be aging by now? I wish Giskard was around... he really knew 4430s.

    Widget

  4. #4
    RIP 2011 Zilch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    9,985
    I recall some recent posts by Giskard showing him "upgrading" 4430 crossovers by substituting Thetas for bypass, but keeping the rest.

    It's not been my experience that crossover caps age that quickly. I might be wanting to replace all the mylars with something better, but at that point your "starting from scratch" approach would be a better strategy, including air-core inductors, since there's nothing left but some cheap sandcast wirewound resistors and a crappy switch then.

    In that case, there's decisions to be made as to what configuration to build. Only a fool like me would build the whole enchalada, including biasing....

  5. #5
    Senior Member Guido's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,501
    Come on guys!

    Why NOT biasing

    My 4435 WILL be biased for sure. Parts are already on the desk. But first I'll finish my 250ti biased networks
    BLS Reference on Passlabs XA 30.5 + Everest DD66000 clone on Pass XA 100.5

  6. #6
    Senior Member "Duke" Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    144
    well, the caps are 20++ years old ..

    and they weren't the best quality to begin with...

    i haven't been dissapointed anytime i have rebuilt an old network ...

    maybe i'll go 14g. air core here, too

    now ...
    i just gotta fit them in, betwwen the L-7's , Chorus, Forte's, Cornwall's, Valencia's, 'n Model 19's.......


  7. #7
    Senior Member "Duke" Spinner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    144
    Saaay ...

    can you build a house

    outta Speakers ...???.................

  8. #8
    Senior Member stevem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    278
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Widget
    Zilch, those things are likely 20 years old... don't you think the crossover caps might be aging by now? I wish Giskard was around... he really knew 4430s.

    Widget
    Perhaps you could ask Miss Orchid some questions. She appears to be quite knowledgeable.

  9. #9
    Member Miss Orchid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Zhejiang province
    Posts
    35
    Perhaps you could ask Miss Orchid some questions.

    What are the questions?

  10. #10
    Dis Member mikebake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Lima, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,623
    Quote Originally Posted by "Duke" Spinner
    now I just gotta fit them in, betwwen the L-7's , Chorus, Forte's, Cornwall's, Valencia's, 'n Model 19's.......

    At least you are moving in the right direction!

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    277
    what about using active crossover?
    Hasn`t JBL made an active crossover box for the 4430 and 4435? Does it bring any advantages to the system?

    Leif

  12. #12
    RIP 2011 Zilch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    9,985
    The active crossover option retains most of the passive crossover circuitry in operation. Examine the "Int" vs. "Ext" configurations in the schematic. I find little difference in the performance. If anything, the active setup is not as good as the passive, in my experience, though I have not determined why.

    What I DID do, though, is split the passive into LF and HF in my DIY versions of the crossover, so that I can run them off of separate amps. This I find to be an improvement, if for no other reason than that is how I run everything here.

    See the early stages of the "Quick and Dirty" thread for my experiences with the JBL recommended active crossover setup, and this thread regarding DIY passive, including parts list:

    http://audioheritage.org/vbulletin/s...ead.php?t=5209

  13. #13
    Senior Member Lancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    473
    Quote Originally Posted by leif
    what about using active crossover? Does it bring any advantages to the system?
    The DX-1 would have...

  14. #14
    Senior Member JBLnsince1959's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    KC - land of ahhhhs
    Posts
    1,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Zilch
    If anything, the active setup is not as good as the passive, in my experience, though I have not determined why.
    I agree. The passive is much better sounding and I tried different actives and configurations for years with them( didn't try the DX-1).

    I'm also at a lost as to why this is.

  15. #15
    Administrator Robh3606's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Destiny
    Posts
    7,514
    Active vs. Passive for the 4430

    "The active crossover option retains most of the passive crossover circuitry in operation. Examine the "Int" vs. "Ext" configurations in the schematic. I find little difference in the performance. If anything, the active setup is not as good as the passive, in my experience, though I have not determined why."

    Zilch is that with the 4430/4435 cards in a 5235???

    I have never tried a straight 4430. Just used the compensation in the 4435 crossover for the horn. Unless you have a really flexible DSP unit you will never get the compensation as good as the passive crossover.

    Rob

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 4430 help!
    By ricesinice in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 05-29-2013, 08:01 PM
  2. 4430 with reconed E140's and 2425J drivers. Can it be done??
    By Dutchman in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-28-2007, 04:44 PM
  3. Between 4430 and S2600, I made my choice!
    By ngccglp in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 11:24 AM
  4. monitor 4430 , the best ?
    By herve M in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2005, 10:53 AM
  5. 4430 in a normal livingroom?
    By Figge in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 05-27-2004, 11:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts