Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2397 Horn Project

GarMan

2397 Horn Project

Over the weekend, I started on my 2397 clone project. Thanks Mr. Widget for all your postings on specs! I'm sure that anyone who's built one of these will agree that the most difficult part is shaping the vanes, especially the half-vanes on either side. One of these days, I'll get a CNC for the house ... NOT.

I'm not an expert woodworker, just a hobbiest. After an entire afternoon's worth of work, I was able to design and build a jig to carve out the vanes with a laminate router bit.

I'm still trying to figure out how to post photos, but attached is a link to my project album.

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/lowgc/...owgc/my_photos

Gar.

Steve Gonzales

Yes!!

Simply put: OUTSTANDING!!

Way to go.
    Johnny Haugen Sørgård

Hmm

Very nicely done.

Thumbs up Talent abounds

By now you'd think I wouldn't be surprised by the dedication and skill of JBL fans, yet here again I am! Looks great.
    Out.

Absolutely fabulous!

Quote Originally Posted by GarMan
    I'm sure that anyone who's built one of these will agree that the most difficult part is shaping the vanes, especially the half-vanes on either side. One of these days, I'll get a CNC for the house ... NOT.
    Your horn project is coming along nicely... you know the vanes are actually tricky with a CNC too. I guess the trickiest part for me was gluing them up and having plenty of glue, but not so much as to have it come squirting out back in the narrow part of the horn where it is difficult to get to all the while maintaining the proper angles and parallelism.

Widget

GarMan
    Widget, I was going to use two small dowels per vane per side to keep them in place during glue-up. Mind if I ask why you didn't go with dowels?