Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 4315A crossover problem

  1. #1
    RIP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Posts
    3,790

    4315A crossover problem

    Ever since I picked up my 4315A's last year, one 2405 HF unit has been way down in level, (15 - 20 db down) - I've been compensating in the meantime with EQ, but even that can't really compensate.

    I finally dug into them today and determined the 2405 itself is fine - 5.3 ohm DCR, and I even plugged in a brand new 2405H with exactly the same result. I double checked all the accessible connections, and the level control *does* have an effect, ('smoothly raises and lowers the level, albeit at that way reduced level). There's just almost no signal apparently coming from the crossover. I even removed the perforated crossover cover but nothing appears amiss at all, at least at the board level.

    I don't have an image file of the network schematic or I'd post it, but here's the PDF for reference: http://www.jblproservice.com/pdf/Net...%20Network.pdf

    Does anyone have any idea how I might narrow down the problem more, without trying to tear the crossover completely apart? I've got another old beater 3114A network kicking around that came all unglued inside, but when they're in otherwise good shape, you can't hardly get to the transformers and caps behind the main board, (they're glued to the bottoms of the cans), because the connecting wires are too short to lift the board out without unsoldering everything!

    Any suggestions 'greatly appreciated!

    John

  2. #2
    Senior Member GordonW's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Marietta/Moultrie GA USA
    Posts
    1,457
    I'd have to say, probably a bad cap. Happened to me a few times, on other speakers, with similar symptoms.

    May be time to just bite the bullet and tear into the crossover...

    Regards,
    Gordon.

  3. #3
    RIP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Posts
    3,790
    Quote Originally Posted by GordonW
    I'd have to say, probably a bad cap. Happened to me a few times, on other speakers, with similar symptoms.

    May be time to just bite the bullet and tear into the crossover...
    Yeah, at least I've got an additional old beater I can raid for parts. There's also one on eBay I'm looking at.

    Any suggestions on "ungluing" if it looks like one of the big caps glued in the bottom has to be removed?

    Thanks - John

  4. #4
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    Why don't you just have me build you a new pair of networks John?

    It would only take me about six to twelve months to do it though.

  5. #5
    RIP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Posts
    3,790
    Quote Originally Posted by Giskard
    Why don't you just have me build you a new pair of networks John?
    I'd LOVE to - we'll have to talk later, (after income taxes, property taxes, etc...). I'm seriously interested, though.

    What I'm really going to need networks for in the future are my Sub1500, 2012H, 2105H, 2405H cabinets , once completed. (I know - 'less than optimal component combinations, but hey - it's mostly for fun... 4315's on steroids... ) Until I get passives together for those, I'll have to use active crossovers/EQ, (and a pile of amps...).

    John

  6. #6
    RIP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Posts
    3,790
    It appears I was lucky! There are two 1.5 mf caps in the UHF circuit, and they're right on the top of the board. I replaced both of them with caps out of the spare 3114A and my UHF is back! ('Knock on wood - I still need to remount the drivers.) But open air on the UHF is the same from both cabinets now.

    Thanks, Gordon, for the suggestion to go for the caps. And Giskard - I'll definitely be in touch on some network stuff in the future. If nothing else, I have questions on how to go about your recommended bypass procedures on these 3114A's. I've searched a bunch of past threads, and it seems like .01 mf caps are mostly used? Would all the caps get these, or only some of them? I'll do a little more reading...passive crossovers are still mostly a mystery to me...

    John

  7. #7
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    You could put one of these in parallel with every stock capacitor.

    http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=027-700

    I've finished doing just that to two 4430 networks and four 4435 networks recently (also getting Ti Series Monster Cable).

    (Left was in progress, right was still stock.)
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  8. #8
    RIP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Posts
    3,790
    Thanks Giskard - 'gotta run right now, (late for a date...)
    John

  9. #9
    aust-ted
    Guest

    Replacing/ adding caps

    Quote Originally Posted by Giskard
    You could put one of these in parallel with every stock capacitor.

    http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=027-700

    I've finished doing just that to two 4430 networks and four 4435 networks recently (also getting Ti Series Monster Cable).

    (Left was in progress, right was still stock.)
    Giskard They look like great caps. Just one concern, surely adding the .1ufs would affect the xover freqs, especially for the smaller value caps? I note you have completely replaced one of the tiddlers. Do you have a rule of thumb on when to add or to to simply replace?

    Regards
    Ted

  10. #10
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    They are 0.01 uF.

    So a 1.0 uF on a 2405 becomes a 1.01 uF.

    Yes, I completely replaced all of the stock 0.01 uF metalized polypropylenes with these film and foil AudioCaps.

  11. #11
    aust-ted
    Guest
    Giskard

    My apology I should have written "0.01 uf"

    Regards
    Ted

  12. #12
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,548
    No problem. It's good to double check stuff.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Crossover tweaking for new JBL horn system
    By jlharden in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-2005, 01:52 PM
  2. Questions about the Ashly XR1001 Active Crossover
    By porschedpm in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2004, 01:37 PM
  3. 4344MKII and 275ND problem
    By spirou38 in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 11-20-2004, 04:12 PM
  4. 3110A crossover problem
    By jbl in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 01:51 PM
  5. BX63 crossover problem
    By leif in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-20-2003, 02:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •