+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 64

Thread: Cannot find server...

  1. #16
    Senior Member hector.murray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    323

    tracert

    These are Ping and tracert results during a PCBD episode.
    Oddly, they don't look bad, just that the server web page can't be displayed.

    Pinging audioheritage.org [198.80.11.57] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 198.80.11.57: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=48
    Reply from 198.80.11.57: bytes=32 time=105ms TTL=48
    Reply from 198.80.11.57: bytes=32 time=111ms TTL=48
    Reply from 198.80.11.57: bytes=32 time=110ms TTL=48

    Ping statistics for 198.80.11.57:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 105ms, Maximum = 111ms, Average = 109ms

    Tracing route to audioheritage.org [198.80.11.57]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms 10.101.176.1
    2 9 ms 11 ms 10 ms pos6-0-0.syrcnypth-rtr01.nyroc.rr.com [24.92.227
    .94]
    3 9 ms 13 ms 11 ms drh-rtr-lph.nyroc.rr.com [24.92.225.25]
    4 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms srp2-0.syrcnyspp-rtr04.nyroc.rr.com [24.92.227.2
    17]
    5 12 ms 14 ms 15 ms srp10-0.syrcnyspp-rtr01.nyroc.rr.com [24.92.224.
    137]
    6 12 ms 13 ms 14 ms son2-0-1.syrcnyspp-rtr06.nyroc.rr.com [24.92.224
    .21]
    7 31 ms 29 ms 30 ms so-2-0-0-0.gar1.Philadelphia1.Level3.net [4.78.1
    48.1]
    8 30 ms 30 ms 105 ms so-7-0-0.mp2.Philadelphia1.Level3.net [209.247.9
    .253]
    9 32 ms 32 ms 32 ms ae-0-0.bbr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [64.159.1.41]
    10 32 ms 26 ms 39 ms ge-6-0-0-53.gar4.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.68.97.69
    ]
    11 33 ms 33 ms 31 ms uunet-level3-oc48.NewYork1.Level3.net [209.244.1
    60.182]
    12 26 ms 28 ms 27 ms 0.so-6-0-0.XL2.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.21.82]
    13 33 ms 33 ms 33 ms 0.so-2-0-0.TL2.NYC8.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.185]
    14 56 ms 55 ms 55 ms 0.so-7-1-0.TL2.STL3.ALTER.NET [152.63.0.206]
    15 107 ms 107 ms 108 ms 0.so-4-1-0.XL2.DEN4.ALTER.NET [152.63.92.238]
    16 106 ms 107 ms 107 ms 178.ATM7-0.GW4.DEN4.ALTER.NET [152.63.93.205]
    17 110 ms 107 ms 109 ms csd-gw.customer.ALTER.NET [157.130.160.62]
    18 110 ms 106 ms 106 ms apollo.csdco.com [198.80.11.57]
    Regards
    Hector

  2. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    317
    Quote Originally Posted by hector.murray
    so in short, when this occurs, you'd like a tracert to see where the hop is with the longest delay.
    Whether it reaches the destination would be the first consideration, but then the problem could still be that you can reach it but your DNS server can't.
    John Nebel

  3. #18
    Obsolete
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    NLA
    Posts
    14,358
    There's something screwy going on. I constantly get those messages and have to hit refresh or try a link again to get where I want to go. Even managing attachments comes up with the error.

  4. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,744
    There's something screwy going on. I constantly get those messages and have to hit refresh or try a link again to get where I want to go. Even managing attachments comes up with the error.
    Ditto !

    - Is there a "tracert" that runs from a Mac? If so , what & how do I go about executing this trace ?

  5. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,888

    Traceroute free in Mac Network Utility

    Quote Originally Posted by Earl K
    Ditto !

    - Is there a "tracert" that runs from a Mac? If so , what & how do I go about executing this trace ?
    Earl,

    If you're using Mac OS X (if not, why not? ), then you can go to Applications/Utilities/Network Utility and open it up. Click on the Traceroute tab and put in the network address.

    I used 198.80.11.57 to get to the audioheritage.org site and got this:

    Traceroute has started ...

    traceroute to 198.80.11.57 (198.80.11.57), 30 hops max, 40 byte packets
    1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 3.788 ms 1.538 ms 1.002 ms
    2 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 1.565 ms 1.481 ms 1.439 ms
    3 adsl-69-226-47-254.dsl.irvnca.pacbell.net (69.226.47.254) 12.361 ms 11.019 ms 11.143 ms
    4 dist1-vlan50.irvnca.pbi.net (67.114.48.66) 18.585 ms 14.046 ms 29.505 ms
    5 bb1-g1-1-1.irvnca.sbcglobal.net (67.114.49.51) 14.686 ms 34.848 ms 18.358 ms
    6 core2-p5-0.cranca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.41.18) 12.119 ms 19.701 ms 11.96 ms
    7 core1-p1-0.cranca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.241.221) 13.144 ms 19 ms 18.806 ms
    8 bb1-p8-0.cranca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.40.94) 28.366 ms 15.11 ms 12.637 ms
    9 ex1-p15-0.eqlaca.sbcglobal.net (151.164.41.29) 20.816 ms 27.575 ms 21.239 ms
    10 sl-st20-la-4-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.154.229) 27.851 ms 13.486 ms 14.399 ms
    11 sl-bb21-ana-13-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.20.66) 14.751 ms 15.011 ms 16.204 ms
    12 sl-bb23-ana-13-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.1.186) 14.715 ms 14.549 ms 14.158 ms
    13 sl-bb25-sj-9-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.20.159) 26.228 ms 28.128 ms 25.727 ms
    14 sl-bb23-sj-15-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.3.249) 25.996 ms 24.919 ms 26.204 ms
    15 sl-bb21-tac-13-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.20.105) 48.932 ms 46.99 ms 50.987 ms
    16 sl-bb20-che-5-1.sprintlink.net (144.232.18.9) 88.7 ms 85.545 ms 84.612 ms
    17 sl-gw11-che-9-0.sprintlink.net (144.232.15.150) 86.007 ms 83.669 ms 84.308 ms
    18 sl-csd-11-0.sprintlink.net (160.81.226.14) 93.676 ms 89.35 ms *
    19 apollo.csdco.com (198.80.11.57) 89.783 ms 95.959 ms 94.473 ms
    In.

  6. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    317
    The response time via Sprint appears to be better than UUnet.

    I think there may be a vBulletin bug and maybe Don could check the list of problems for anything that fits.

    Several times when I tried to open this thread, nothing happened.
    John Nebel

  7. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    8,888

    Red face Bass Ackwards

    Earl,

    Sorry to do this backwards, but you can also ping from the Network Utility by clicking on the Ping tab and entering the location you want to ping.

    So putting in www.audioheritage.org got me this:

    Ping has started ...

    PING www.audioheritage.org (198.80.11.57): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 198.80.11.57: icmp_seq=0 ttl=46 time=92.409 ms
    64 bytes from 198.80.11.57: icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=90.8 ms
    64 bytes from 198.80.11.57: icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=98.574 ms
    64 bytes from 198.80.11.57: icmp_seq=3 ttl=46 time=90.511 ms
    64 bytes from 198.80.11.57: icmp_seq=4 ttl=46 time=150.317 ms
    64 bytes from 198.80.11.57: icmp_seq=5 ttl=46 time=91.536 ms
    64 bytes from 198.80.11.57: icmp_seq=6 ttl=46 time=90.829 ms


    You can see in the PING line that it reveals the 198.80.11.57 real address.
    In.

  8. #23
    Moderator / Treasurer/Marketplace Czar boputnam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    northern california
    Posts
    6,902
    Quote Originally Posted by John Nebel
    I don't fully understand your technical terminology, however, DNS complaints could be your PC, DNS server at work, or your ISP's DNS server if from home, Internet congestion practically anywhere, or (n1.csd.net and ns2.csd.net) simultaneously ?? (not likely). A traceroute to 204.181.152.51 while it is happening would be helpful - ie. a map because someone or something is lost.
    Yea, I don't understand my terminology, either!!

    Sorry, John - missed this reply until now.

    When I hit that blue arrow taking me to the last post of a Thread, I was getting that DNS error. In some instances, I could go back the the Root (LHF), and then work into the specific Thread and post - but not always. A few times, anywhere I try to go on the Forum is "DNS error".

    At the next instance, I will do a trace and post the report.
    bo

    "Indeed, not!!"

  9. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,744
    Thanks Titanium Dome !

    I'm still using 9.2 since my computer is only a G3.


  10. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    317
    There is likely a PHP or vBulletin bug. Did this start about the time the new photo gallery was put into operation?
    John Nebel

  11. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,744
    Just guessing John, (since I have such a bad short-term memory) , but I think it was approx. 6 to 10 days ago.

    - That's as narrow a time frame as I can muster up.

  12. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    317
    Earl,

    On Mac OS X referencing an earlier post of yours..

    "Mac OS X Version 10.3 requires a Macintosh with a PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor, built-in USB; at least 128MB of physical RAM and a built-in display or a display connected to an Apple-supplied video card supported by your computer. Mac OS X does not support processor upgrade cards. Verify your hardware is supported from the list below."

    http://www.apple.com/macosx/upgrade/requirements.html

    John

  13. #28
    Moderator / Treasurer/Marketplace Czar boputnam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    northern california
    Posts
    6,902
    Quote Originally Posted by John Nebel
    There is likely a PHP or vBulletin bug. Did this start about the time the new photo gallery was put into operation?
    Yes. I don't know when the "tinkering" started, but my awareness of it was nearly coincident. I wondered that, myself.
    bo

    "Indeed, not!!"

  14. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    317
    Bo,

    Displaying this thread directly with

    http://audioheritage.csdco.com/vbull...ead.php?t=4987

    sometimes returns a blank page. It looks like the PHP script is crashing.

    The DNS problem is separate which would make things pretty confusing.

    John

  15. #30
    Moderator / Treasurer/Marketplace Czar boputnam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    northern california
    Posts
    6,902
    Quote Originally Posted by John Nebel
    The DNS problem is separate which would make things pretty confusing.
    Especially for me!!

    But the error originally came back as: "Cannot find server or DNS error." - see the starting post - that's why I reported it so. Believe me, I'm merely (poorly) reporting the incidence...
    bo

    "Indeed, not!!"

+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Old JBL find!!!
    By JBLROCKS in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-22-2006, 08:38 AM
  2. How Did You Find This Site?
    By Don McRitchie in forum Forum Feedback
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 05-02-2005, 10:59 PM
  3. Trying to find prices for new SRX horns, can anyone look these up?
    By TimG in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-16-2004, 08:59 AM
  4. Can't find thread
    By Donald in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2004, 08:34 PM
  5. Trying to find some capacitors
    By Midnight in forum Lansing Product Technical Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2003, 12:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts