Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to choose rossover coils?

How to choose rossover coils?

Hello everyone! My name is Ari and I have finally taken steps to build 4344 inspired speakers. I've been roaming the forums and thinking of this project for over 15 years! I don't have room for 4345s and these will probably take up the entire living room. Since 2122H are difficult to source I am using 2123Hs and the 4344MKII charge coupled crossover below.

As I am acquiring parts, I ordered coils from Jantzen via HiFi collective in the UK. My question is how does DCR of a coil affect the crossover? According to the list below L2 is a .6mH with a DCR< 0.5 ohms. When I ordered this exact part the coil wires are 24 AWG gauge which seems very small. Is it better to use a coil with larger wires which will lessen the DCR? How will this change the crossover if at all? How do you guys best match coil specs?

Also how much would I benefit from air coils vs iron cored coils in different parts of the crossover?

Thanks for your help!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Hi Ari,

I have some info for you but i don't have time right now, i'll be back later tonight with the info.

Richard

Quote Originally Posted by RMC View Post
    Hi Ari,

I have some info for you but i don't have time right now, i'll be back later tonight with the info.

Richard

That would be super and much appreciated!

Ari,

I don't have precise answers to all of your questions but the following should help.

Here's some guidelines for crossover coils. Most is from David B. Weems, Designing, building and testing your own speaker system, 4th edition.

Air-core coils are the preferred ones, however if of large value they can get sizeable and add a fair amout of resistance in the circuit. Ferrite-bobbin core coils provide lower resistance for identical inductance value.