Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rookie DIY project based on 604 hpln

Rookie DIY project based on 604 hpln

I have some questions regarding my project! Its based on 604-HPLN By the way I am a rookie. I am mounting them in 612 cabinet (I know its not perfect in terms of bass extension) but the size of my room combined with my family's sense of aesthetics must be taken into consideration. I have the original crossovers should I use them or replace them with werner jagusch (if... how do I buy from him?) or others please recommend? I have the dimensions of the cabinet but what about the dimensions of the plywood how thick and what about the front baffle is it supposed to be thicker? And does anybody have pictures or drawings of the inside bracing? inside cabling?...recomendations on terminals..should buy specific screws bolts and what size? ok enough with the questions thank you all Best /J

The plans for the 612 cab indicate a 6 cu.ft. box. The material thickness appears to be 3/4" on the plans i have. Good 7-ply Fir plywood should be ok on all panels.

The diagonal brace on plan for the back panel i guess isn't a good idea even if it comes from Altec. More recent work from D'Appolito and Alden has shown that a diagonal brace is less effective than a straight one. So each brace should divide a panel in two equal parts and placed lengthwise (glued and screwed). You can probably use good 2X2" for bracing.