Thread: Altec 816A & 3156 in close range listening

Question Altec 816A & 3156 in close range listening

Hey everyone,

I recently managed to rescue two pairs of weather-beaten 816A-cabinets loaded with 3156-woofers. They had served their time stacked in open-air events, which might explain the supposedly odd cabinet-speaker pairing. However, I’d hope to restore one pair for a listening room setup, along with unidentified midrange horns hooked on HH Acoustics CD400 drivers. But before getting ahead of myself, I'm keen to hear your thoughts about gear's suitability for the intended use.

By judging from your personal intuition, how fitting a 816A-unit is for close range listening? And charging from the woofers' perspective, will I get a full potential out of a 3156 from a low-powered amp / on relatively low volumes? I'm still new to the horn game here, so any related thoughts regarding fitting amplifying, speaker positioning or general acoustics will be very much appreciated.

Thanks for the add to the forums, and thanks for your time in advance.

Best regards,
    Eino

——

Edit: Images embedded, cheers Rob!

Name:  IMG_5296.jpg
Views: 2299
Size:  159.1 KB
    Name:  IMG_5285.jpg
Views: 1644
Size:  159.4 KB
    Name:  IMG_5282.jpg
Views: 1540
Size:  176.3 KB
    Last edited by Eino; 04-21-2021 at 10:00 AM. Reason: Images embedded on the forum

Please post the images on the forum. I won't open them from there and when those links no longer work the thread will have no context.

Rob
    "I could be arguing in my spare time"

Hi Eino,

Welcome to the Lansing Heritage. This is an interesting find you got and should lead to a nice restoration project.

The cabs look like DIY made, probably not factory built since i can't recall seeing brown ones, unless repainted.