Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Vari intense concert horns

Vari intense concert horns

Wondering if anyone here has experience with these massive horns?

Tell me about them. What size room are they in. What do you use for the bottom end. What tweeters do you use?

A horn lover for sometime and normally found on the klipsch board , some has come up for sale locally and I am intrigued.

I would try to intergrate them into my garage system that consists of a pair of klipsch mwm singles and kp301s version 2. Likely these horns will replace the top cabs and use a dbx driverack pa+ to sort the signals.
    TIA.

Hi Skelt,

Sorry for the delay in replying to you as I'm pretty busy these days, but took a little break to give you some of what I have about these interesting horns since nobody has helped you yet. I don't own the horns so can't provide you with actual user info, but I have some background info about these which may help you decide.

The Vari-intense horn was designed by Engineer David Gunness of Electro-Voice late 80's. An EV design but first released by Altec! The connection here is that Altec, EV, Gauss, etc. all belonged to Mark IV Audio for a while, and exchanged some of their ideas, designs, technologies, etc. Later EV released its own versions of the horn's design with the Variplex name. And they still have, as I recall, Vari-intense indoor speakers.

I think I have more info about the Vari-intense/Variplex horns but I'd need to dig in my stuff to see...

Hopefully the following will give you some insight into those clever devices. Regards,

Richard

See docs:

David Gunness, in Wikipedia, see EV section of it, specially paragraph starting with "In 1989,..."

Altec Vari-intense horn, data sheet, Pdf

EV Cinema Systems-Variplex, Data Sheet, Pdf, see top right plus Description section

EV CINEMA SYSTEMS Variplex-B EDS.pdfALTEC VARI INTENSE HORN VIT.2480224208.pdf