Thread: Building options - what to do?

Building options - what to do?

Hi.

I have over the years collected som different JBL parts - and now i have started thinking of building something with. I am pretty good with Wood, building, venering etc. But the whole "what Works - and what do not" - i am not that good with.

I have some diffferent parts.
    Tweeters
    2403 alnico
    2402 alnico
    2402H
    2405H

Mids:
    2420 with h92 and lenses
    2440 with 2441 diaphrames
    10" 2123H
    Two pairs 2397 with 2328

Woofers.
    2 pairs of le15a 8 ohms
    Le15H
    2215a
    Pr-15

To i use my le15H with 2397/2440 and 2307. I a 150 liter enclousere, Two ported. Crossovers are 3110/3205. I am very happy with the way it sounds but i have this idea in my head and I do not know if It's a good idea. I would like to build a 4-way system with 2 Le15a om each side with 2123h as mod the 2397/2440 as high and 2303 as ultra high. I am thinking s enclousure arround 200-250l. Plus maybe 16l for the 2123h. Horn and tweeter will lay on top.

Does this just sound stupid - or could this be a well sounding speaker ud done right? I do not know what to do with crossovers yet - i will have to have them build.

Any ideas, toughts, do's and dont's will be appreciated.

Regards Louis

IMO when they (JBL) build crossovers, the already picked components are tuned in. They'll dial something back if it out performs something else. Now days you can easily do this with electronic DSPs.
    You may find that you can even compensate for something lacking in your cabinet design for a given driver or the driver(s) itself.