Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Crown DC300A series II , fuse problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member blues 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    italia
    Posts
    7

    Crown DC300A series II , fuse problem

    good morning to everyone ,I hope my English you understand ' I had a problem with my DC300 , I burned a fuse .and I would have a few questions - I was trying the Phase , turning the electric plug off and turning it on a few times , 2/3 quite fast .... and Puff suddenly went off, you know I was hasty!! 'However we move on to the fuse : 'Reading the manual write to use , a 5Ampere I live in Italy , i use network from 220V.
    The one burned instead, is an F4Ampere. today I went, electrical material shop ,I found an F6 A.'now I would like to know !! 'Can I use it momentarily instead of the 5A ? ? in the manual , is written , (type MTH fused), what does the acronym MTH mean? and in the end I have to use a retard, or a quick one? what are and acronyms

    fuse The AC line is safely fused. Use a 10 amp, 250 volt,
    type AB fuse for 100 and 120 VAC operation, or a
    5 amp, 250 volt, type MTH fuse for 200, 220 and
    240 VAC units (see Sections 3.3.5 and 4.5).

    grazie mille thank's regard

  2. #2
    Senior Member RMC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    641
    Hi blues,

    I have something for you coming shortly, no time right now, I'll be back later, stay tuned...

    Richard

  3. #3
    Junior Member blues 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    italia
    Posts
    7
    Richard, thank you for your attention, I'm waiting for your new ones, I stay tuned to you.

  4. #4
    Senior Member RMC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    641
    Hi blues,

    Sorry for the delay.

    First, a reminder. Its normal to have a lower current rating fuse (5 amp @ 220 volt) compared to the 10A @ 110V one. Simply because at 220V you get twice the current vs that at 110V. So the 220V fuse here needs to be half the amp rating only.

    The rule with fuse replacement is to always replace with SAME type and amp/volt rating as the original.

    You mention the one burned is F4 amp, you found an F6 amp, and the manual says 5 amps 250 volt type MTH.

    Amp/volt ratings and type do matter. e.g. Too low amp rating the fuse blows like it happened to you, too high amp rating you risk amplifier damage caused by excessive current draw. If you use "momentarily" as you say the 6 amp fuse and you request from the amplifier too much power you may well regret it. This is like driving or walking in the dark with no lights on... Gotta be extremely cautious.

    I'm surprised the fuse on the amplifier was 4 amp instead of the 5 amp original, it may have been replaced before, but safety wise 4 amp is better than 6 amp here. If you decide to use the 6 amp fuse momentarily then make sure you don't ask too much power from the amplifier, GO EASY ON IT, because the amplifier will not be really protected as it should, and its at your own risks. Also make sure the fuse voltage rating is 250V.

    As for the MTH type, I did a quick search on this and didn't see a definition for it, but they appear to be fast action fuses. However, MTH type fuse seems to be obsolete/discontinued and replaced by AGC type fuses which are generally fast blow or fast acting ones also. Are the F4 and F6 fuses fast acting ones?

    Read the text on the pictures below from my quick search it mentions some of the above notes. Best Regards to Italy,

    Richard


    Name:  IMG_0887.jpg
Views: 37
Size:  92.3 KBName:  IMG_0889.jpg
Views: 36
Size:  89.2 KBName:  IMG_0891.jpg
Views: 37
Size:  99.2 KBName:  IMG_0893.jpg
Views: 37
Size:  106.0 KB

  5. #5
    Junior Member blues 66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    italia
    Posts
    7
    hello Richard , thank you and again thank you .... after your elucidations 'I bought a box of fuses from 5 Amp. To fast .
    changed immediately as soon as he got home, all Ok
    yes , the 6 A to dab momentarily 'I wish you a good day 'hello' Mauro

  6. #6
    Senior Member RMC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    641
    Hi Mauro,

    Glad to hear the Blues will continue playing at the right level with no more fuse problems... Regards,

    Richard

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Feedback on Crown DC300A as LF amp
    By oldr&b in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 01-13-2014, 01:59 PM
  2. Any problem with this Crown DC300A?
    By pyonc in forum Consumer Amps
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 08:23 PM
  3. Opinions please: Crown PS-400 v. DC300A-II?
    By BMWCCA in forum Professional Amps
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 01:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •