Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Building my dream system, need lots of advise!

Building my dream system, need lots of advise!

Hi all,

Before I start, let's start with an introduction and a little history. I have been dabbling with audio on and off for around 2 decades. My mother, of all ppl, is a music lover and an audiophile who got me hooked. My main music category is classical (symphonies/orchestral mostly) and a little jazz and no other genres.

Over the years going to shows and visiting friends (of friends) there are a couple of systems which really made an impression on me. One is a system with a 2 way, a pair of 2397/375 + 136A housed in a rather large translam cabinet. The bass definition was unreal while the texture coming from the Smith horns were that of a dream, these were driven by a 200W SET amp with a soccer size radio output tube. Another system is a multiway, with 3 horns and 2x JBL 15" and 2x JBL 18" housed in separate pro cabinets, on EACH SIDE. driven by DSP crossver and Crown amps. Playing orchestral music, the scale, dynamics, and at the same time, completely effortless presentation was phenomenal. I couldn't stop smiling for hours.

While the latter system is too large to be housed in my own home, my dream is to bring the essence of both systems and fuse it into my own dream system.

With a fair amount of reading and research, I think I have come up with something that is feasible and reasonable in my listening space (20'x20' room).

I have, as some might seen, started gathering pieces already. I have acquired a pair of 2397 and a pair of 2441. I also recently got a pair of stilll in the box NOS pair of 2123H (just in case I want to do a 4 way), a pair of Fostex T925A (though I am tempted by a pair of 2405 but not sure the condition). These will be driven by a minidsp crossover SPDIF unit that feeds separate DACs and a mix of class D amps (NC400 and Nuprime).