Thread: MTM with jBL LE14H-4?

MTM with jBL LE14H-4?

I was all ready to start working out a cabinet to house two LE14H-4 drivers and a 2450SL/2332 in an MTM configuration. My ancient version of BassBox (5.1), which I am just learning to use, suggests that a 4 cf volume tuned to 31-32 Hz for each driver would yield an f3 of 32 Hz.

But then I seemed to recall, though I could not locate, a discussion on these forums warning against using any of the LE14H-x drivers in an MTM configuration.

Could anyone point me to that discussion or refresh my memory of why LE14H-4s are best not used in an MTM design. . .?

Thanks,

Joel.

"I could be arguing in my spare time"

Joel,

I mention the following so that you are encouraged to experiment with your own MTM approaches.

One of my MTM channels ( in my asymmetrical 2-chnl setup ) uses a JBL LE10H over LE14H ( no suffix ).
    - There's an Altec 288-8K driving an Emilar EH500 radial horn in between the two "M" parts.

Tonality, this is a great setup with the le10H nicely complimenting the le14 ( & filling in for any deficiencies that it may have over 400hz ).
    - The le10H works in a sealed .7cu' enclosure.

Real world impedance differences ( ie; 8 vs 6 ohms ) ends up level matching these 2 types of woofers ( plus the fact that that the le10H is closer to ones ears also helps a smidge ).

Granted this is best used as a small-to-mid sized room setup but I mention it because these parts are still around on the used market ( while the le14-4 is hard to impossible to get > as far as I understand ).

The other channel is twin 15's ( JBL ME150H ) also using an Altec 288-8K on the EH500 radial .

Another worthwhile asymmetrical setup could be a 12" over a newer tech ( JBL ) 15" ( run the 12" in a sealed enclosure ) .

Based on my experience I can see the 2204/6H on top of the newer 2216nd being successful ( mid-you, those JBL PRO twelves might benefit from an application of "Hill-Billy" aquaplas ) .