Thread: Removing drivers from L150A

Removing drivers from L150A

I'm a relative novice at this, so I would appreciate some advice. I need to remove the woofers and PRs from my L150As to have them professionally refoamed. Is the best way to do this with the speaker enclosure resting on its backside, and lifting the speakers upward? Will they come out relatively easily?

It seems like I once read about a method using 2 X 2s on the floor with the enclosure facing downward, and giving it a good thunk on the backside until the speakers pop out...but I think that was with much smaller speakers and probably wouldn't work too well here.

Thanks!

They can be difficult or easy to remove depending on the status of the rubber gasket.

I'd be a little careful about thumping on the cabinets because you can dislodge the midrange cup.

But a gentle drop onto the floor can work to loosen a stuck driver. You can also leave the screws in a few turns to catch the driver when it comes loose. Basically you do whatever you need to do to get them out, but use common sense. Heat can also help loosen a stubborn driver.

Quote Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
    They can be difficult or easy to remove depending on the status of the rubber gasket.

I'd be a little careful about thumping on the cabinets because you can dislodge the midrange cup.

But a gentle drop onto the floor can work to loosen a stuck driver. You can also leave the screws in a few turns to catch the driver when it comes loose. Basically you do whatever you need to do to get them out, but use common sense. Heat can also help loosen a stubborn driver.