Thread: JBL XPL200 - which amplifier/s and how to set up them properly?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

JBL XPL200 - which amplifier/s and how to set up them properly?

Hello Community!

I have a pair of JBL XPL200. At the moment I run them with a Pioneer A-777 Stereo Amplifier. It sounds pretty satisfying so far, but after reading all those threads about Bi-Amping I am consistently wondering how it may sounded when I Bi-Amp them.

As I am a complete newbie, I have no idea how to realize this though. Also I‘m not a friend of decisions :-)
    So I hope that u guys can tell me which amplifiers (exact model & brand) I should use for this. Also I am not sure if I need a „Crossover“ (whatever this is) like the DX-1.
    After reading a few other threads and articles im just more confused and just don‘t know which amp(s) I need, and where do I have to plug in which cable.

Could somebody please explain to a newbie, which amps and which crossover I should choose for my pair of XPL200 to get the best out of them, and finally how i should set up that stuff (which cable where to plug) ?

I guess there is not THE RIGHT combination of amp and crossover for the XPL200, of course. Nevertheless I would love to get just simple explanations and product suggestions (maybe used condition) that are – in your opinion – able to get out all the dynamic and brillance of the XPL200.
    One more thing to add: I own the XPL200, not the XPL200A.

I‘m grateful for every piece of advice!

Matt

I read in more other threads and reviews, that bi amping is great, "when you know what you are doing."
    Do i really have to be a professional to set this thing up? Of course im not that stupid and able to get into topics quite quickly, but when it comes to electrical and technical things, its quite hard because i always am scared to break my equipment..