Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: PS1400 help

  1. #1
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    647

    PS1400 help

    Hi All,

    One of my PS1400's seems to have died. Green lights went out, no response from the driver. I recall members having issues with the plate amps on early makes of this unit. Mine has been performing well for a good 5 years. Is there a possible fuse I could check? Or is there a way to have the amp repaired resonably? Or must I begin the dreaded search for a replacement Much thanks, hope everyone is well!
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  2. #2
    Senior Member rdgrimes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    2,180
    If any of the boards are damaged it can't be repaired. Lights out might mean a power supply issue. There's a way to identify whether you have the 1st or 2nd generation amp, the 1st gen was more likely to fail. I don't think they made very many of the 2nd generation, but there's reports of some 1st being "updated" to 2nd gen design.

    Given all the givens of that model, it might be easier to find a complete sub than just the amp. Although there are a few spare amps floating around too if you can get someone to part with one. I might let a repair shop mess with it, nothing to lose.

  3. #3
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    647
    [QUOTE=rdgrimes;404919]If any of the boards are damaged it can't be repaired. Lights out might mean a power supply issue. There's a way to identify whether you have the 1st or 2nd generation amp, the 1st gen was more likely to fail. I don't think they made very many of the 2nd generation, but there's reports of some 1st being "updated" to 2nd gen design.

    Given all the givens of that model, it might be easier to find a complete sub than just the amp. Although there are a few spare amps floating around too if you can get someone to part with one. I might let a repair shop mess with it, nothing to lose.[/Q

    Thanks. I had some contact with one of many sub-amp repair guys on 'bay who show quite a few repairs to JBL models in their history. Looks like there's a decent success rate bringing them back to life, will ship it out tomorrow and hope for the best. Thanks for your reply, really hope it works out. PS1400 has sure become rare on 'bay compared to a few years ago when they at PT800's were also a dime a dozen. If not, I might either sell it off and go back to my L7, L5, L1 setup, or go whole hog on the Array HT I've been dreaming about since the PS setup
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  4. #4
    Senior Member RedCoat23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sammamish, WA
    Posts
    213
    If you get no luck with the amp repair, you could probably get a plate cut to fill the hole with connections to the LE14 and use some kind of dsp-based amp to replicate the function of the original amp if the worst came to the worst. Food for thought anyway...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Central Coast California
    Posts
    9,041
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    If not, I might either sell it off and go back to my L7, L5, L1 setup, or go whole hog on the Array HT I've been dreaming about since the PS setup
    What a curious statement!
    Out.

  6. #6
    Senior Member grumpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,467
    JBLAddict:

    If you end up looking for updated PS1400 amp assemblies, I may be able to help. PM.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    25

    2 x 1400 amps

    i have 2 brand new amps for sale
    i bought them from mr widget a few years
    but my ps1400's got stolen and my pt800's got stolen also

    you can pm me if you wish.

  8. #8
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    647
    Name:  $_12 (1).jpg
Views: 175
Size:  53.8 KBName:  $_12 (2).jpg
Views: 180
Size:  56.1 KB

    I sent the amp for repair. The guy I'm working with told me it would be extra to "rebuild it and replace 6 more components"

    Is this even possible in this condition, not sure what rebuild it means if the board isn't being outright replaced? talking $275 at this point.
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Central Coast California
    Posts
    9,041
    Yikes!
    Out.

  10. #10
    Senior Member grumpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,467
    Sir Dome of Ti, Looks like your updated PS1400 amps may be coming full circle... back to a good home in California

  11. #11
    Senior Member rdgrimes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    2,180
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post

    I sent the amp for repair. The guy I'm working with told me it would be extra to "rebuild it and replace 6 more components"

    Is this even possible in this condition, not sure what rebuild it means if the board isn't being outright replaced? talking $275 at this point.
    I can see a number of traces on the boards that are fried. Repairing that is a fool's errand.

  12. #12
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    647

    feel good story of the summer?

    I'm back in Performance Series bliss!! Grumpy had not one, but TWO PS1400 amps pulled from TiDome's gear, which I believe were Northridge upgrades. Not only did he sell them to me at a phenom price, but actually drove them to my house and spent a few hours with me installing! Was great catching up. Thundered some Jurassic World today to remind of the PS + HTPS400 power. Here's a couple shots from inside the cabinet if anyone is interested (good suggestion from Grumpy)

    Name:  PS1400.jpg
Views: 147
Size:  57.6 KBName:  PS14002.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  63.0 KBName:  PS14003.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  72.2 KBName:  PS14004.jpg
Views: 145
Size:  76.2 KB
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

  13. #13
    Senior Member grumpy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,467
    Ah, the sound of a nicely set up complete Performance Series system

    Thanks for having me over, I enjoyed the time.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Central Coast California
    Posts
    9,041
    Quote Originally Posted by JBLAddict View Post
    I'm back in Performance Series bliss!! Grumpy had not one, but TWO PS1400 amps pulled from TiDome's gear, which I believe were Northridge upgrades.
    Not only Northridge upgrades, but upgrades arranged by Greg Timbers. He was very gracious in arranging and monitoring the process. This was back in the days when Northridge was still a going concern and production and repairs and development and testing were all part of the Northridge experience. Greg knew the people front to back and had the right relationships to get things like this done.

    Out.

  15. #15
    Senior Member JBLAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lower Cali
    Posts
    647
    Quote Originally Posted by Titanium Dome View Post
    Not only Northridge upgrades, but upgrades arranged by Greg Timbers. He was very gracious in arranging and monitoring the process. This was back in the days when Northridge was still a going concern and production and repairs and development and testing were all part of the Northridge experience. Greg knew the people front to back and had the right relationships to get things like this done.

    Beautiful! Even better to know they were from the master himself!!

    Glad they can stay in the LH family so to speak. I only installed on the broken unit and the green indicator lights are much brighter than the other sub, should I change out the other sub? Does the light in anyway indicate better power supply?
    Performance Series 5.1/1990s L1.L5.L7/L100A
    http://adsoftheworld.com/media/tv/ac...cuses_tube_amp

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PS1400
    By Techbot in forum System Information
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-31-2006, 06:49 AM
  2. PS1400 amp problem
    By sfellini in forum General Audio Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2006, 03:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •