Thread: Issues about the lm386 audio amplifier

Issues about the lm386 audio amplifier

Hi, I'm new here. I'm trying to build a simple LM386-based audio amplifier circuit.(Here's the details of LM386:http://www.kynix.com/Detail/274538/LM386.html )
    See the schematic of what I've got.

Name:  schemic.png
Views: 380
Size:  12.6 KB

I've got a simple pair of earbuds plugged into the audio output end, and an FM radio plugged into the input end for testing purposes. I'm powering it off of a 9V battery.

What I hear through the earbuds is a "click" at regular intervals. Listening closely, I can tell the "click" is actually a very short snippet of audio from the FM radio. (Just a single note or even less.)

Again, I'm pretty new to this. Please don't hesitate to point out anything bone-headed I'm doing. All help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Lightbulb

You may need a DC blocking input capacitor, and a DC path at the input to the amp chip, although it may work without that.

Dave
    "Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic." - Arthur C. Clarke

Bipolar Power

I built two LM386 amps on a lab breadboard back in 1977. Input was a Dynaco FM-3 tuner, output to Koss Pro-4AA. The schematic was right out of the 1976 National Semiconductor Linear IC book. But I think I used + and - DC power rails ( a bunch of GI issue size "C" carbon-zincs soldered together ).