Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: using 414-16b (16 ohm) with 902-8t 511b (8 ohm)

using 414-16b (16 ohm) with 902-8t 511b (8 ohm)

Hi,

This will be my first attempt at putting some speakers together and I'm stuck already ..... in order to use a pair of 414-16b (16 ohm) with a pair of 902-8t 511b (8 ohm), what is required, can this be done w/o bi-amping?

Thanks in advance,

Joe

Hi Joe -

First, may I suggest that you post your question to the Altec User's Group? There you will have a devoted group of Altec experts (I am not an expert - only a tinkerer!) who can give you very specific information regarding your build:

http://www.hostboard.com/forums/f700...ers-board.html

For a very quick answer to your question, however, yes, you can absolutely use your 414s and 902 in a very nice combination without biamping. Following usual convention, you could wire the two 414s in parallel (plus to plus, minus to minus), which will yield an 8 ohm resistance. Of course, you will need to either build a crossover network, use an existing Altec design, or purchase a similar design from any number of reputable suppliers. (Be sure that you do not use your 902 drivers without a crossover!)

(Keep in mind that everything I'm telling you is not the BEST way to do your build. Avid builders will go to great lengths to measure their driver's frequency response, resistance profile, Theil/Small parameters and a host of over specifications in order to tailor their crossovers to their specific drivers in their specific boxes. I'm assuming that you are not at that level yet. So, my suggestions are "ballpark" examples intended to get your system functioning. As your knowledge and experience builds, you will be able to make better components.)