Thread: Recording quadrophonic.

Recording quadrophonic.

So im on ebay looking at scarce quadrophonic albums, im just starting out in quadrophonic 8 tracks, but if I wanted to record a quadraphonic 8 track for a back up, would I need two 4ch players? as a tape a & b would work.

I have a Wollensak 8056 its not quad, it needs belts, I was considering a reel to reel for quadrophonic playback, I have read a q8 8 track player will play stereo 8 tracks, maybe eaiser to buy a dedicated q8 player then two reel to reel 4ch players.

Any thoughts

If you want to back-up the music on a quadraphonic LP you need 1) a quad decoder with quad analog recording outputs, and 2) a recording device that will record 4 analog channels in parallel with no timing errors between them. For this you could use an old Teac A3340 1/4-inch reel-to-reel tape recorder or any number of professional 1/2-inch, 1-inch or 2-inch multi-track analog tape recorders. This route will cost you many thousands of dollars by the time you're done (properly-functioning A3340s are very rare and expensive; properly-functioning professional multi-track tape recorders will command a 5-figure price-tag, and must frequently be aligned by someone who knows what they're doing to perform properly; blank 2-inch multi-track tape for professional machines can run close to a thousand dollars or more a reel). OR, you can get a good audio recording computer program (DAW) and a 4-channel audio interface unit for your computer, the total of which would cost you well under a thousand dollars. If you want to create your own quad 8-track cartridge tapes you need a quad 8-track recorder. (I have no idea if such a device ever even existed.)