Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Space bar doesn't work

  1. #1
    Senior Member audiomagnate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Colorado and Georgia
    Posts
    1,014

    Space bar doesn't work

    For some odd reason my space bar doesn't work when posting in the regular forums (it's working here). This is not a problem except for LH Forums. I'm using Chrome if that helps. Exiting the post and then going back into to edit fixes the problem until it occurs again.

  2. #2
    Junior Member SD Modiano's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Ojai, CA
    Posts
    17
    I'm having the same issue. Also a Chrome user.

  3. #3
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,972
    If I quote a post and reply a line below it, the space bar doesn't work in Chrome on my Mac. Started about a week ago. If I back up all the way to the quoted section and then start typing, it works fine. Odd. Didn't seem to have any problem just now typing a reply without a quote.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  4. #4
    Senior Member Ed Zeppeli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC
    Posts
    608
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post
    If I quote a post and reply a line below it, the space bar doesn't work in Chrome on my Mac. Started about a week ago. If I back up all the way to the quoted section and then start typing, it works fine. Odd. Didn't seem to have any problem just now typing a reply without a quote.
    Icanconfirmthatthisisalsoaproblemforme.

    Intermittently.


    Warren
    DIY Array, 2242 sub, 4408, 4208, Control 8SR, E120 Guitar cab, Control 1, LSR305.

  5. #5
    Senior Member brutal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    1,027
    This is a problem widely reported by chrome users on another forum I frequent. Always when quoting in replies for me.

    Have to hit enter after the first word to get any spaces, or go back and add them.

    Annoying. Assuming this is going to get worse before it gets better and both vbulletin and Google need to get it figured out.

    Here: vb 4.2.2
    There: vb 4.2.1

    Me: Win7 Pro Chrome Version 54.0.2840.71 m


  6. #6
    Senior Member brutal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Parker, CO
    Posts
    1,027
    Quote Originally Posted by brutal View Post
    This is a problem widely reported by chrome users on another forum I frequent. Always when quoting in replies for me.

    Have to hit enter after the first word to get any spaces, or go back and add them.

    Annoying. Assuming this is going to get worse before it gets better and both vbulletin and Google need to get it figured out.

    Here: vb 4.2.2
    There: vb 4.2.1

    Me: Win7 Pro Chrome Version 54.0.2840.71 m
    Replyingtomyownquote

    yup, same exact issue.


  7. #7
    Administrator Mr. Widget's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    10,040
    Quote Originally Posted by brutal View Post
    Replyingtomyownquote

    yup, same exact issue.
    No problem with Safari.


    Widget

  8. #8
    Senior Member audiomagnate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Colorado and Georgia
    Posts
    1,014
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Widget View Post
    No problem with Safari.


    Widget
    Sothe"fix"istobuyaMac?

  9. #9
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,972
    Quote Originally Posted by audiomagnate View Post
    Sothe"fix"istobuyaMac?
    It seems to be working fine on my Mac running Chrome . . . at least tonight!
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  10. #10
    Senior Member NWCgrad's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    107
    Using my Samsung phone with Chrome I often find I can't type anything but the occasional symbol or punctuation mark when quoting on some of the other sites where I am much more active. It is very annoying. I hope vbulletin figures this out quickly.

  11. #11
    Heather [Senorita member] hjames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NoVA - DC 'burbs
    Posts
    8,350
    Quote Originally Posted by audiomagnate View Post
    Sothe"fix"istobuyaMac?
    Sounds like the fix is you don't use Chrome, huh?

    Quote Originally Posted by NWCgrad View Post
    Using my Samsung phone with Chrome I often find I can't type anything but the occasional symbol or punctuation mark when quoting on some of the other sites where I am much more active. It is very annoying. I hope vbulletin figures this out quickly.
    The fix may be to leave vbulletin behind -
    like Audiokarma and TivoCommunity (and a number of other sites) have done ...
    I don't think vbulletin has done much in the way of updates themselves ...
    from what some other site admins have said ...
    2ch: Oppo, Acurus RL-11, JBL 240ti, Heath AS101, Carver TFM-25,Von Schweikert VR4
    7: Oppo BDP103D, B&K, UREI 809A, JBL B460,

  12. #12
    Senior Member BMWCCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    6,972
    Quote Originally Posted by NWCgrad View Post
    Using my Samsung phone with Chrome I often find I can't type anything but the occasional symbol or punctuation mark when quoting on some of the other sites where I am much more active. It is very annoying. I hope vbulletin figures this out quickly.
    It was screwing up again on my first reply today, after inserting a carriage return between the quoted post and my reply. Deleting back to the quoted block allowed me to use the space-bar and I haven't been able to make it not work properly since then.
    ". . . as you have no doubt noticed, no one told the 4345 that it can't work correctly so it does anyway."—Greg Timbers

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ont.
    Posts
    4,694
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWCCA View Post
    It was screwing up again on my first reply today, after inserting a carriage return between the quoted post and my reply. Deleting back to the quoted block allowed me to use the space-bar and I haven't been able to make it not work properly since then.
    Hmmm, I (exclusively) use Chrome on a Dell laptop running 8.1.

    Preview looks good ( formatting wise ).

    I'm wondering when ( & where in the reply process) is this problem supposed to manifest itself.
    - ( ie; after the Editor does it thing, Closes & actually Posts the Reply ?? )

    Guess I'll find out soon enough.


  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Richmond Hill, Ont.
    Posts
    4,694
    Quote Originally Posted by Earl K View Post
    Hmmm, I (exclusively) use Chrome on a Dell laptop running 8.1.

    Preview looks good ( formatting wise ).

    I'm wondering when ( & where in the reply process) is this problem supposed to manifest itself.
    - ( ie; after the Editor does it thing, Closes & actually Posts the Reply ?? )

    Guess I'll find out soon enough.

    Nope, that's not it.

    My guess is your NSA is simply data-filtering ( with Googles help ) & not quite clever enough to replace the intercept ( as originally discovered ).


  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,732
    It seems to be a recent issue. I haven't changed anything on my end since when I was able to reply with spaces.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. VOT issue,,space
    By whitese in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-22-2005, 07:13 PM
  2. 15 inch driver space?
    By lpd in forum Lansing Product General Information
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-25-2004, 12:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •