Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jbl 4560

Jbl 4560

Hello all. I'm new to this so just wanting to say hi. I'm also fairly new to the big speaker ownership club. I have a pair of Jbl 4560's with what I believe to be Selenium 5650 horns on top. They came out of a church.

Welcome to Lansing Heritage!

4560's are fun. Way back when they were my first "known" exposure to JBL. I still have a pair.

Barry.
    If we knew what the hell we were doing, we wouldn't call it research would we.

Thanks Barry. I enjoy them a lot. I would really like to find a pair of Altec a5's or even a4's. The wife factor is fairly low. She's pretty understanding. I just need to find a pair that I can afford. Any ideas?

Are there Jbl speakers that compare in looks and sound to the a4? They are just big and awesome. I like both. The JBL's and Altec's.

Quote Originally Posted by Marine 0811 View Post
    Are there Jbl speakers that compare in looks and sound to the a4? They are just big and awesome. I like both. The JBL's and Altec's.
    The closest would be the 4550 bass bin, but it has a smaller internal volume than the A4's 210 bass horn, and therefore weaker deep bass performance. (Both would require a subwoofer to satisfy contemporary listening expectations.) You could then top it with the JBL radial horn of your choice. JBL also offered multicells into the early 1970s (based on the Altecs, which were developed in the 1930s when James B. Lansing was part of Altec), but I think they're hard to come by. It's easier to find the Altec multicells. (But prepare yourself for sticker shock.)

P.S. In my book a partner who is willing to live with A4s goes way beyond "pretty understanding" and even beyond "real good sport".

JBL 4560 output. It is designed more for sound reinforcement than sound reproduction.

The 4550 has the reputation to be awesome.

And then you have the RCA Unbangi ;-)

http://www.audioheritage.org/vbullet...404-RCA-Ubangi